Food! - I've never been so ill prepared or so determined to tour - CycleBlaze

Food!

You know me, I'm always thinking about the next meal. It doesn't matter how many miles I ride in a day, I get to town starving.

I asked Jacinto if he thought we ought to carry food on our first day from Moab to Monticello - he laughed at me and said Monticello had plenty of places to eat. Here I sit on the sofa at home. Hungry. It happens to be Sunday. I google Monticello restaurants. Bad news surfaces. There are perhaps ten places to eat in Monticello. All say closed on Sunday. Horrors! After a 5,000 foot climb, we will be ready to eat anything that isn't nailed down. I scroll on down the list. Wait - here's a Subway that's open. Hmmm - not exactly what I want after an arduous day of climbing. Steakhouse - that sounds good - I click on their website. Nope. Closed Sunday. It looks like our one choice is Subway. Or we can carry food from Moab.

BUT - we have more Sundays in Utah on our trip . . . egads! Let me check. The next one is the Grand Canyon - there will be food - we might not like the price - but there will be food. Then we have Cedar City - that's a big town. Safe there. Hanksville is following. That could be bad. It is a tiny town. Three restaurants total and google says two of them are open on Sunday. Sounds like Hanksville is safe.

I have been debating emergency food. Usually I carry a foil packet of tuna with mayo and relish packages. It doesn't weigh much and it's real food.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0