Day 33: To Umpqua hot spring - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 29, 2008

Day 33: To Umpqua hot spring

Today I don't plan to go far, so I slept until 8:30. I needed a long rest after such a long day yesterday. After breakfast I inspected my shifter and determined that I need a 2.5mm hex wrench to remove the outer shell. I could insert a new cable through a tiny hole in the shell but there is no way to remove the broken stub of cable inside the shell. I rode in highest granny gear 3 miles to the boat house at Diamond Lake resort. There I was able to borrow a wrench and replace the cable.

View of 8363-foot Mt. Bailey from the Diamond Lake resort.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The sky started to cloud up about the time I left Diamond Lake resort. First clouds I've seen in several days. After a short hill climb to highway 138 I turned west to begin a very long downhill to the North Umpqua river. Over the next few miles the Lodgepole Pines, Red Firs and Yellow Firs give way to mostly Douglas Fir trees.

Descending through the forest towards the North Umpqua river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After crossing the little-known deserts of southeastern Oregon I'm finally in the "stereotypical" green western third of Oregon that visitors see when traveling on the coast or on I-5. There are big mountains around but I can't see them because tall trees block the view. It's very different from the wide open vistas in the desert areas.

Tall trees, lush forest on the spur road to Clearwater falls.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ther North Umpqua river corridor has several spectacular waterfalls. I saw three of them today. First Clearwater falls, then Whitehorse falls, then 272-foot Watson falls. I would have visited Toketee falls if it wasn't blocked off with police tape. A landslide destroyed a portion of the trail. The bright overcast sky was perfect for taking waterfall pictures. The afternoon temperature was 75F. The humidity was noticeably higher than in the desert.

Clearwater falls is a 30-foot segment style waterfall.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fall foliage is just getting started.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Watson Falls drops 272 feet over a Basalt cliff.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Early fall foliage along the Clearwater river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At Toketee I turned off highway 138 towards Umpqua hot spring. First 3 miles of pavement along Toketee lake, then 2 miles of gravel to the hot spring trailhead.

Toketee lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of 8 generating plants in the North Umpqua hydro project.
Heart 0 Comment 0
North Umpqua trail near Umpqua hot spring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at the hot spring area at 2:15 PM. It helps that today is mostly downhill, losing 2600 feet elevation. After setting up camp and making lunch I walked 1/2 mile to the hot spring for a soak. This is my "local" hot spring, one of the best.

Upper pools at Umpqua hot spring.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pool inside the shelter.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The lower pools at Umpqua hot spring overlook the North Umpqua river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

In the evening I made dinner and got water from a nearby cold spring, then went back to the hot spring for a long evening soak. Breaks in the clouds allowed me to see the stars. The evening wasn't particularly cold because of the clouds and lower elevation. I'm camping at 2500 feet elevation, lowest I've been since the Idaho/Oregon border area.

Today had by far the highest average speed on this tour because it was downhill for most of the day. It was a short day of cycling but I spent much time hiking, visiting waterfalls, and soaking in a hot spring. Tomorrow will be a long day, 75 miles to get home. It already feels like home now that I'm on the green side of the mountains.

Distance: 30.9 miles (49.4 km), 2 miles unpaved

Climbing: 982 feet (298 m)

Average speed: 13.6 mph (21.7 km/h)

Maximum speed: 36.5 mph (58.4 km/h)

Hiked 3 miles (5.8 km)

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 1,506 miles (2,424 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0