Day 31: To Silver Lake - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2008

Day 31: To Silver Lake

40F overnight. Not too bad. First thing in the morning I had a long soak in the bath house. Then I made breakfast and relaxed for a while. It felt warm early in the morning because the open area gets sunshine soon after sunrise.

It was past 11 AM by the time I got on the road. After getting Duane to fill the water bottles again.

Highway 31 near Summer Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road is level going around Summer Lake, with the giant lake bed to my right and the Winter Ridge fault scarp to my left. Almost always an impressive view.

One of several horsemen herding cattle. Taken while in motion.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Winter Ridge fault scarp west of Summer Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Highway 31 and Summer Lake. Most of the lakebed is dry this time of year.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Near Summer Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped for snacks at the Summer Lake store. Today's route has no restaurant.

The north end of the lake has a small area of water. But it covers less than 1% of the lakebed. There was a slight haze in the area, probably from the wind stirring up salt and fine dust on the lake bed.

This might be an old school house. I'm not sure.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near Summer Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just past Summer lake the road turns northwest, climbing 600 feet to a gap in the Winter ridge fault scarp.

Climbing over the Winter Ridge fault scarp.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then the road descends a few hundred feet to my last basin in the "basin and range" country. The sleepy little town of Silver Lake is ahead. The weather was wonderful, 75F and sunny.

Descending to the last basin.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the road to Silver Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near the town of Silver Lake.
Heart 1 Comment 0

In Silver Lake I looked at the city park which has lush irrigated grass but no bathroom. I figured the sprinklers must come on every night. So I continued to the store and noticed a 6-room motel next to the store. I got a room for $21. Cheap! Nothing fancy but it will do. I showered, hand washed clothes, made dinner, and rested.

Today was a short easy day. Modest distance and climbing with minimal wind. It was sunny all day with a high of 80F. Definitely warmer than normal.

Distance: 47.1 miles (75.4 km)

Climbing: 1297 feet (393 m)

Average speed: 9.8 mph (15.7 km/h)

Maximum speed: 30.5 mph (48.8)

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 1,387 miles (2,232 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0