Day 29: To Lakeview - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2008

Day 29: To Lakeview

It was 55F in the morning. Amazingly warm. I got on the road at 9:45 and a brisk headwind had already developed. The road goes south towards Adel with a large ridge (the next range I have to cross) to my right. The scenery is interesting-wide open views because the road stays slightly above the sometimes swampy basin.

County road 3-10 south of Plush.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Between Plush and Adel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The scenery is especially nice along the shore of Crump lake with rabbit brush starting to bloom. And no traffic.

Crump Lake and county road 3-10 north of Adel.
Heart 1 Comment 0

A few miles past Crump lake the county roads ends at the town of Adel, on state highway 140. I stopped for lunch at the Adel store. Adel has a population of 78 according to the sign, but it looks smaller. As I was finishing lunch the lady at the store informed me that a neighbor is moving bulls on the highway. I grabbed my camera and ran out to have a look. Maybe a hundred bulls on the highway were herded by a solitary woman on horseback. Yes, this is ranch country.

Bulls on highway 140 at Adel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This cowgirl was herding the bulls to a new pasture.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Adel is the southernmost point of this tour. 10 miles from the state of Nevada. In Adel (4200 feet elevation) I turned west on highway 140 towards Lakeview. It's a very scenic climb into the Warner mountains, starting along Deep creek.

Highway 140 and Deep Creek west of Adel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Falls on Deep Creek.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This rancher was about to go check on his cattle.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At first the surrounding hills are mostly grass with a few juniper trees. But I climbed into pine forest for the first time in several days. Traffic was very light, maybe one car per minute. The light headwind didn't slow me down much.

I start to see pine trees as I gain elevation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Much more forested now, in the Warner mountains.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road tops out at 5846 foot Warner summit at the base of a small ski area. Then a fast 1000 foot descent to the next basin. I turned left on US 395 and pedaled south 6 mostly flat miles to Lakeview.

US 395 north of Lakeview. Another basin.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Weather was great but I decided to stay in town and get a motel. That will make it easier to wash all my clothes. I got a room in the downtown area, showered, then found a laundromat (3rd laundromat on this tour). I bought groceries and ordered a take-out pizza. Many chores after primitive camping the last 3 nights. The TV weather forecast says the weather will be unseasonably warm for the last 5 days of the tour. I watched the news about the economic collapse and later watched the movie Casablanca on Oregon public television.

At 4800 feet elevation Lakeview is the "tallest town in Oregon".
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yard art in Lakeview.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a great day. High of 80F. I felt strong and was in a good mood. I enjoyed the variety of scenery, good weather, and light traffic.

Distance: 53.3 miles (85.3 km)

Climbing: 2417 feet (732 m)

Average speed: 8.2 mph (13.2 km/h)

Maximum speed: 34 mph (54.4 km/h)

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 1,287 miles (2,071 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0