Day 25: To Crystal Crane hot spring - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 21, 2008

Day 25: To Crystal Crane hot spring

Today was a lazy day. Yesterday's long nonstop ride in the rain really exhausted me, so I needed a rest today. I got up at 8, made breakfast in my room, packed away all the dry stuff, and mended a Keen sandal. I watched TV and bought a few more groceries. Finally away from the motel at 11:30, I went back to Safeway to get a deli sandwich for lunch. I finally left Burns at 12:15 PM heading east on highway 78 to Crane.

Barn near Burns.
Heart 0 Comment 0
High desert.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road is flat and I had a tailwind. Easy cycling but I didn't feel strong at all. The road has smooth pavement, a small paved shoulder, and very little traffic. I loafed along at a slow pace that didn't get me sweaty. Highway 78 has more farm houses than US 20, but still not very many houses. Harney county is larger than Connecticut and Rhode Island combined but has only 8000 people. The weather was mostly cloudy with a high in the low 60's.

Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Great Basin southeast of Burns, Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at Crystal Crane hot spring before 3 PM, having ridden only 26 miles. I could have camped for $15, but instead I got a cabin for $45. I still feel like a wimp in the unseasonably cool weather. The cabin has no TV, and no plumbing. Toilet and shower are in the bath house.

95F warm pond at Crystal Crane hot spring.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I made dinner in the communal kitchen, then had a soak in the 95F pond. It has a cinder bottom and is 5 feet deep in the middle. Later I checked email at their public computer.

It was good to rest for most of the day. Yesterday was a hard day and tomorrow will be a long day.

Cabin at Crystal Crane hot spring. No plumbing, no TV.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Distance: 26.4 miles (42.2 km)

Climbing: 62 feet (19 m)

Average speed: 10.8 mph (17.3 km/h)

Maximum speed: 14.5 mph (23 km/h)

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 1,075 miles (1,730 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0