Day 23: To Juntura hot spring - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2008

Day 23: To Juntura hot spring

I discovered a flat tire just as I was ready to get on the road. I fixed the puncture (my only flat tire on this tour), inspected the tire, and removed 6 goathead thorns. Finally on the road at 9:25 after a quick stop at the bakery.

Short-haul train transporting ore from a nearby mine. A few miles ahead the railroad track is dismantled.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Traffic was surprisingly busy on US 20, going west towards Juntura and Burns. A pattern quickly became apparent. Hundreds, maybe a couple thousand, cars of Boise State University football fans driving to Eugene for tomorrow's football game with the University of Oregon. With large orange stickers, flags, etc.

Concrete irrigation canal and siphon pipes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped for lunch at a wide spot in the road called Harper. The gas station/tavern sold me a sandwich made this morning at the bakery in Vale. I didn't expect to have a store on today's route. It was a treat to buy lunch.

Highway 20 and an irrigation canal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Highway 20 and the Malheur river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A roadside spring is ahead.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I filled my water bottles here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A few miles past Harper the road leaves the wide irrigated valley behind and climbs 500 feet to Vine Hill summit. Afterwards US 20 drops into a more canyon-like environment, with far fewer irrigated fields. Following the Malheur river upstream through impressive hills and rock formations. Excellent scenery. And perfect weather with a high of 80F.

Highway 20 and Malheur river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Malheur river and highway 20.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down on the old highway bridge. Juntura hot spring is 1/2 mile downstream.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's destination is Juntura hot spring, 3/4 mile off the highway on the Malheur river 4 miles east of the village of Juntura. It's a popular free camping area. A couple was already camped there when I arrived. Plenty of room, though. Across the Malheur river from my campsite is an island. On the far side of the island is Juntura hot spring. I had a short soak in the 111F pool. Too hot for me.

Juntura hot spring in the rain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I went to bed I could see lightning in the distance. Maybe an hour later it started raining with strong wind. But it slacked off after only a few minutes. The temperature stayed surprisingly warm. Overall it was a great day.

Distance: 55.2 miles (88.3 km)

Climbing: 1812 feet (549 m)

Average speed: 9.6 mph (15.4 km/h)

Maximum speed: 32.5 mph (52 km/h)

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 986 miles (1,587 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0