Day 22: To Vale - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2008

Day 22: To Vale

I slept late because I was up late last night. Overnight it only got down to 55F. I left my rainfly open and sleeping bag unzipped all night. I got on the road before 9:30, after taking a picture of Snively hot spring:

Snively hot spring on the Owyhee river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

First I pedaled a mile farther upstream just to see the gorge in morning sunlight.

Owyhee river gorge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I turned around and backtracked 5 miles, then continued north zigging and zagging towards Vale. Most of the time I pedaled through cornfields along an irrigation canal.

Surrounded by corn.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually the irrigated fields give way to desert scrub. The road climbs steadily to 2909 foot Keeney Pass which is on the route of the Oregon Trail. It was warm and sunny and I was swarmed with black insects while going uphill. From the summit it was mostly downhill to Vale, where I crossed the Malheur river.

Downtown Vale, Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Vale has a population of 2000, a big town around here. I ate lunch at a Mexican restaurant, then looked around town a bit.

Vale Oregon has many murals depicting emigrants on the Oregon trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had considered trying to pedal all the way to Juntura today but laziness got the best of me. Yesterday was a long day and the next couple days will be long and remote. I could use a rest. I got a motel room for $30.

This mural depicts Oregon trail emigrants crossing the Snake river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I rested a while but also checked email at the library and did various chores. Looking around town it's obvious that Vale is having hard times. About half the downtown storefronts are vacant. The murals are an attempt to attract tourism.

Distance: 26.4 miles (42.2 km)

Climbing: 749 feet (227 m)

Average speed: 8.7 mph (14 km/h)

Maximum speed: 26 mph (41.6 km/h)

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 931 miles (1,498 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0