Day 2: To Boiling Springs campground - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2008

Day 2: To Boiling Springs campground

Today I have an appointment to meet "Hotspringer John" from Boise at Rocky Canyon hot spring. I got up at 7:30 and packed up without making breakfast. Then I rode 3.8 miles upstream on the gravel road to Rocky Canyon hot spring. I made breakfast there while waiting for John to show up. While there I also met Cary who built all the new rock and concrete soaking pools. He drives all the way from Pocatello.

More and more trees as I gain elevation on the middle fork Payette river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rocky canyon hot spring is across the river from the forest road. You have to wade across the knee-deep river to get to the hot spring.

Rocky Canyon hot spring viewed from the road side of the river.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking down on the soaking pools at Rocky Canyon hot spring. The roadway is visible across the river.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I had a soak with "Hotspringer John" who drove in from Boise.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I enjoyed soaking at Rocky Canyon. The pools have a very high flow rate and every pool has a drain plug. The small pools refill in only 3 minutes. The pools were very hot, though. The lowest pool was 105F in the morning. Late in the morning I left Rocky Canyon to continue upstream.

Sometimes the middle fork Payette river drops very rapidly.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a short detour to see Fire Crew hot spring. I took pictures but didn't soak there. The source pools were way too hot and the riverside pools were way too cool. This one needs some work...plus there was a party camping just a few feet away. While at Fire Crew I realized that I left my digital probe thermometer behind at Rocky Canyon hot spring. So I rushed back there (all downhill) and got there just as a guy was crossing the river back to the road with the thermometer in his hand. A minute later the thermometer would have been gone.

I stopped to look at, but didn't soak at Fire Crew hot spring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then onward, upstream, again. The road climbs steadily alongside the river to 4200 feet elevation. In some places the middle fork of the Payette river drops very rapidly. There are many free campsites along the river and most of the campsites were already occupied. People are getting a head start on the Labor Day holiday weekend.

The temperature was 44F early in the morning but 90F in the afternoon. Not a single cloud all day.

No need to worry about me cutting THIS firewood.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Middle fork Payette river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My destination is the end of the road, Boiling Springs campground in Boise National Forest. The campground was nearly full on Friday afternoon. In addition a large number of people were camped across the river. A large group of equestrians and a large group of ATV riders. I set up camp, made a shower, and washed the cycling clothes.

My campsite at Boiling Springs campground.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I walked the trail to the boiling springs. The springs are extremely hot at the source and they leave behind colorful travertine formations. The shallow pools were too hot for me to soak in, though. Especially after a 90F sunny afternoon. The whole area was very hot because the hillside radiates heat from the hot spring.

Middle fork Payette river near Boiling Springs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shallow and very hot soaking pool at Boiling Springs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down on the boiling springs cabin from the source of boiling spring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back at the campsite I made dinner and relaxed. This was a very easy day. All gravel, mostly uphill, but less than 20 miles. Unfortunately it was kind of a zoo at the campground. People playing loud music. People riding ATVs back and forth all the time (slowly, fortunately). Despite all the commotion I was getting tired and went to sleep at about 9PM, before dark.

Distance: 19.5 miles (31.2 km) all unpaved

Climbing: 1589 feet (481 m)

Average speed: 6.9 mph (11.1 km/h)

Maximum speed: 18.5 mph (29.6 km/h)

Hiking: 1 mile (1.6 km)

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 104 miles (167 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0