Day 17: To Elks Flat campground - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2008

Day 17: To Elks Flat campground

I got away from the motel at 8:50 AM, feeling much better but not quite normal. I had a slight headwind going west on US 20. Mostly slightly uphill. Totally straight road. As boring as the day before yesterday but I'm in a much better mood now.

Barn west of Fairfield.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old grain elevator.
Heart 0 Comment 0
US 20 west of Fairfield, Idaho
Heart 0 Comment 0

After 15 miles I noticed a group of touring cyclists approaching in my rearview mirror. We rode together and took a long stop together. It was fun to trade stories with people who understand what it's like to be on the road. Discussions about important topics such as those clicking insects that mimic the sound of the bike's drivetrain. Two pedaled from Virginia. Two pedaled from New Jersey. One pedaled from Arkansas and just met the other four last night in Fairfield. They all deviated south of the Transamerica route in search of warmer weather.

A group of touring cyclists reeled me in. The bike in front looks familiar...
Heart 0 Comment 0

After riding 10 miles together I reached my turnoff. The 5 cyclists continued on towards Mountain Home and Boise, planning to re-join the ACA Transamerica bike route in Ontario, Oregon. I turned north on Pine-Featherville road (forest road 61) road towards the villages of Pine and Featherville.

Finally off of US 20. Now on a county road to Anderson Ranch reservoir. Smoke to the right, but I'm going left.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was nice to be off US 20 and go north with the sun behind me. No more trucks. Less traffic. Meeting the touring cyclists cheered me up. Just what I needed while recovering from my mystery illness.

Descending to Anderson Ranch reservoir but still can't see it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sun was bright and it felt very warm while riding along Anderson Ranch reservoir. Definitely warmer than the previous two days.

Hard to miss now.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Reservoirs generally don't impress me but I enjoyed the scenery immensely. Anderson Ranch reservoir is built on the south fork Boise river.

Anderson Ranch reservoir.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Anderson Ranch reservoir looking downstream towards Boise and the sun.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Upstream from the reservoir was the village of Pine along the bank of the south fork Boise river.

Crossing the south fork Boise river at the village of Pine.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Pine does hve a small grocery store, so I didn't need to carry as much food as I thought. The temperature was 85F. It's a Saturday and possibly the last summer-like weekend of the year. So of course many people are out enjoying the weather. A few miles north of Pine I stopped to camp at Elk Flat campground arriving at 4:15 PM, unusually early for me. The large campground is nearly full and I get one of the last shady sites. The large campground has pit toilets and hand-operated water pumps. I made a shower, cooked dinner, and wandered around the campground. All around were people playing loud music, kids playing, people driving ATVs and pickup trucks, etc.

Across the river from the campground are several hot pools collectively known as Bridge hot spring. I looked around there in the evening and had a long soak later that night when the weather was cooler. But it was unusually warm, 60F at 9 PM. Not bad for 4300 feet elevation.

View of Bridge hot spring from (of course) the bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another pool at Bridge hot spring.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'm feeling much better now. Warmer weather, better scenery, and meeting the touring cyclists made this a great day. Tomorrow I have a steep climb and begin 3 days of unpaved roads.

Distance: 49 miles (78.4 km)

Climbing: 1487 feet (451 m)

Average speed: 10.2 mph (16.4 km/h)

Maximum speed: 36.5 mph (58.4 km/h)

Walked 2 miles (3.2 km)

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 707 miles (1,138 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0