Day 12: To Hailey - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2008

Day 12: To Hailey

I put on two layers of thermal underwear to keep warm overnight. It was 31F inside my tent in the morning. Maybe 25F outside. Fortunately there was no wind and pockets of sunshine appeared at 8 AM. It was still very cold in the shade when I got on the road at 10, but hwy 75 was in the sun going south up to the headwaters of the Salmon river. Always with the Sawtooth mountains rising to the west.

The valley is wide with many ranches but few houses. I stopped to heat up a can of chili for lunch. That was fine but I didn't know that a mile up the road is a resort with a nice restaurant. I had an ice cream cone at the restaurant. Last services before crossing the highest pass of the tour.

Panorama of the Sawtooth mountains from the Salmon river valley south of Stanley (4 images stitched together).
Heart 0 Comment 0

Highway 75 climbs gently upstream with occasional views of the Salmon river getting steadily smaller. The valley is wide and there are very few trees to obstruct the view of the Sawtooth mountains to the right.

Salmon river and Sawtooth mountains.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The river was just a tiny creek when I crossed it for the last time, then began the long climb to 8701 foot Galena summit.

Salmon river near its headwaters. Just a small creek now.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sawtooth mountains, view while climbing to Galena summit.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road climbs gently to 7400 feet, then at a 5-6% grade to the summit. It was an easy climb and traffic was light. The best view was to the right and behind me, of the valley below and the Sawtooth mountains lined up in the distance. Forest begins at 7500 feet elevation, unusually high.

Galena summit, elevation 8701 feet (2640m). The highest elevation of this tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sawtooth mountains from Galena summit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interpretive sign at Galena summit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
2653 meters. Highest point of the tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On the descent I had to stop for a few minutes while road crews pushed fallen boulders away from the road. I had a brisk headwind going downstream along the Big Wood river. But also a big descent to Ketchum, elevation 5840 feet. On the way I stopped at Russion John warm spring. The pool temperature was 94.8F when I arrived, but dropping slowly as shade spread across the pool. I had a nice soak. It's good when the weather is sunny and warm, which it was.

Russian John warm spring, north of Ketchum.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I considered camping in one of several Forest Service campgrounds along the Big Wood river. But the elevation was 6500 feet. I decided it might get too cold so I kept pedaling downstream to Ketchum.

Highway 75 and the Big Wood river headed towards Ketchum.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ketchum/Sun Valley is totally different from any other town I saw on this tour. An upscale, massively planned and over-developed ski town built to attract wealthy people from far away who buy million dollar vacation homes, but spend very little time there.

I went through Ketchum at about sunset and traffic was busy on the main highway. So I didn't get any pictures of the town. There was no campground near town and I didn't see any lodging that would be less than $150/night. Everything was uniformly upscale and exclusive.

The upscale development in Ketchum is not typical of most of Idaho.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So I kept pedaling 13 miles south to the next town, Hailey. The upscale ranchette developments lasted most of the way. Hailey is more of a working class town but it's gentrifying rapidly as well. It was nearly dark as I went through Hailey and got a room at a small 8-room motel. A dive, for $75. Cheapest place in the valley. Grr. At least it will be warm in my room tonight. I do the usual chores: shower, make dinner, charge batteries, hand wash clothes, dry sleeping bag, etc.

Distance: 72.1 miles (115.3 km)

Climbing: 2425 feet (735 m)

Average speed: 10.2 mph (16.4 km/h)

Maximum speed: 35.5 mph (56.8 km/h)

Today's ride: 72 miles (116 km)
Total: 522 miles (840 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0