Day 11: To Little Redfish lake - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2008

Day 11: To Little Redfish lake

I got up at 8 when the sun started shining on my tent. It was 40F outside. I got on the road at 9:15. Lunch is 25 miles upstream in Stanley. With a gentle headwind it was cold riding in the shadow of the tall trees. I stopped for a short soak at Sunbeam hot spring. It felt good to warm my feet. 4 miles later I stopped at Cove hot spring but this time the pool was 110F, too hot. Previously it was only 98F. I noticed car license plates from Minnesota, Illinois, and Virginia. This must be a popular tourist route.

Salmon river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Salmon river near Stanley, Idaho.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Salmon river and Sawtooth mountains.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was warm by the time I stopped for lunch at the cafe/bakery in Stanley. I think everything on the menu was vegetarian. All the cool locals hang out here (if they have money). After lunch I went around the corner to the laundromat to wash all my clothes. First time on this trip. I had a $3 shower while doing laundry. Very nice. They obviously cater to backpackers going in and out of the Sawtooth wilderness.

After the refreshing lunch/laundry/shower stop I continued up the Salmon river 5 more miles to Little Redfish lake. Redfish lake and Little Redfish Lake are the main recreation areas in the Sawtooth mountains with several campgrounds, boat ramps, etc. The campground was nearly full but most people had trailers, not tents. $15 fee for heated bathrooms with flush toilets, cold water sinks, AC outlet for charging the camera battery, and awesome views of the Sawtooth mountains. The next pictures were taken behind my campsite early the next morning when the sun angle was good.

Sawtooth mountains behind my campsite at Little Redfish Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Panning to the left, more of the Sawtooth mountains.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Panning farther left, starting to look into the sun.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Panorama of the Sawtooth mountains and Little Redfish lake. 3 pictures stitched together.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today the weather was mostly sunny and it got up to about 75F. The elevation here is 6500 feet and I'm told that it consistently gets into the 20's at night. 50F swing from day to night. The temperature dropped very rapidly after the sun set, encouraging me to go to bed early.

Distance: 32.2 miles (51.5 km)

Climbing: 1352 ft (410 m)

Average speed: 9.2 mph (14.8 km/h)

Maximum speed: 25.5 mph (40.8 km/h)

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 450 miles (724 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0