Day 10: To Whiskey Flats campground - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2008

Day 10: To Whiskey Flats campground

I got up at 7:30. The temperature was a warm 52F, making it easier to get up early. Plus first thing in the morning I carried my breakfast to the hot spring and ate breakfast while enjoying a riverside hot bath. Because of the soak I didn't get on the road until past 10, heading south on US 93 towards Challis.

Irrigated fields near Challis.
Heart 1 Comment 0

On the road I had a tailwind, so 20 upstream miles to Challis went quickly. In Challis I had lunch at a pizza place, stocked up on groceries, and called my wife (no GSM cellular service in most of rural Idaho).

What to do with those excess antlers...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Shortly past Challis I turned right onto highway 75 which has much less traffic than US 93. Still backtracking up the Salmon river towards Stanley. I saw the 10-horse man again 20+ miles from where he was two days ago. At Clayton the tailwind suddenly turned into a strong headwind for the last 10 miles.

Most of the time I went into the sun so I didn't take very many pictures. The scenery alternates between spectacular colorful rock formations and ugly gravel slopes.

Salmon river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Log barn.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tonight's destination is Whiskey Flats BLM campground. The campground has tables and a pit toilet. No drinking water but the river is just a few steps away and I have a water filter.

My campsite at Whiskey Flats campground.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At about sunset a guy drove up to the campground in a Hummer. Later we had a long conversation. He's from Austria but living and working in Florida for a company that imports US-made boats to Europe. He started his western road trip in Denver during the Democratic National Convention and the Hummer was the only rental car that wasn't sold out.

Today had a high temperature of about 75F with mostly sunny skies. Perfect weather and great scenery but it was kind of a boring day because I was backtracking and riding into the sun. But the final couple hours of daylight at the campground were fantastic, watching the surrounding rock formations turn golden, then dim. Listening to the river and eventually seeing a million stars overhead.

Distance: 55.5 miles (88.8 km)

Climbing: 2060 ft (625 m)

Average speed: 9.4 mph (15.1 km/h)

Maximum speed: 32 mph (51 km/h)

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 418 miles (673 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0