Day 1: Boise to middle fork Payette river, Idaho - Hot-springing Idaho and Oregon 2008 - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2008

Day 1: Boise to middle fork Payette river, Idaho

I got up at 7AM, took a shower, and walked around the corner for breakfast at McDonalds. Then I drove around the block to return the rental car. Back at the motel I gave the bike a final inspection and got on the road at 8:50 AM. The weather was sunny with a temperature of 63F. Nice.

I pedaled north on 27th and 28th streets to Hill Street, Boise's northernmost through street. 6 miles west on Hill Street, through quiet residential neighborhoods. Then north on busy state highway 55. The road climbs gradually at first but is mostly a 6% grade that climbs 1500 feet to a 4237 foot summit.

Climbing into the foothills north of Boise on highway 55.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then a long 7% downgrade to the town of Horseshoe Bend on the Payette river, elevation 2630 feet. I stopped for lunch at a restaurant.

Descending to the Payette river at Horseshoe Bend.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the Payette river at the town of Horseshoe Bend.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Highway 55 is one of Idaho's busiest highways. It has a nice shoulder between Boise and Horseshoe Bend but then the shoulder disappears. The traffic was still heavy, though. Hundreds of vehicles squeezed by me when passing. Trucks, motor homes, pickups towing ATV, pickups towing boats, etc.

Irrigated field near the Payette river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

11 miles past Horseshoe Bend I stopped to look at my map and realized that I left my map case in the restaurant in Horseshoe Bend. So I backtracked to retrieve the map. 22 extra miles on the highway that has the worst traffic of the entire trip.

Payette river and highway 55.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Eventually I got to the junction of highway 24 where the north fork and south fork of the Payette river split. I turned east on highway 24 along the south fork Payette river. At about 3000 feet elevation the hillsides start to be forested with pine trees.

Highway 24 and the south fork Payette river, near Crouch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At milepost 4 I parked the bike and began the steep 1/2 mile hike up to Skinnydipper hot spring. An aerobic workout because it was so steep, climbing several hundred feet above the road. I stayed for about an hour at Skinnydipper hot spring, enjoying the hot soak and the great view of the valley below. The lower pool was 109F, a bit hot for my taste, though. Somebody had left the hot water pipe wide open and the warm water pipe off. The pool was gradually cooling down now with the hot pipe off and the warm pipe switched on. It's one of the rare natural hot springs with adjustable hot water.

Looking down on the main pool and the valley below, Skinnydipper hot spring.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another view of Skinnydipper hot spring.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I reluctantly left Skinnydipper hot spring to go find a campsite. Camping near the hot spring would be nice but everything within a couple miles is extremely steep. I continued east 5 miles to where the middle fork and south fork split, and turned north on the middle fork, through the little town of Crouch. It was about sunset.

Middle fork Payette river near the town of Crouch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was no place to camp in or near Crouch. All fenced private property. So I continued 10 miles north to Boise National Forest. It was getting dark enough that I used my headlight for the last few miles. The first campground was already full (all 4 sites), so I continued another mile to a free riverside campsite, arriving at 9:30 PM. It was almost dark enough to see stars and the temperature was 68F. I set up camp and made a late dinner. There was no moon so I enjoyed an amazing view of the stars.

It was a LONG day because of the extra 22 miles to retrieve the map case. Weather was ideal with a high of about 85F and light wind. Unfortunately the traffic on highway 55 was not pleasant.

Distance: 84.3 miles (135 km), 2 miles unpaved

Climbing: 4034 feet (1220 m)

Average speed: 9.6 mph (15.4 km/h)

Maximum speed: 35 mph (56 km/h)

Hiking: 1 mile, steep (1.6 km)

Today's ride: 84 miles (135 km)
Total: 84 miles (135 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0