Departure from PDX - Iberia 2013 - CycleBlaze

October 10, 2013

Departure from PDX

All systems go

I'm always a bit torn at the start of a tour. On the one hand, I'm delighted and a bit awestruck - here I am again, setting off on another great adventure with my best friend, exploring a new corner of the world in the way we enjoy best. I can't quite believe my luck, and I can't wait to see what lies ahead.

On the other hand, it's a project. For a number of years I've made my living as a software project leader, and planning and initiating a tour has a lot in common with software projects - lots of moving parts, coordination issues, dependencies, and risks. Once we arrive and are on our bikes I will feel more in control and relaxed but for now I've got a mental checklist of things that could go wrong that would derail us before we even get started.

So far, so good - we didn't oversleep, the taxi was on time, we didn't leave anything behind (as far as we know anyway), we got to the airport and checked in without incident, and are now in Phoenix looking for breakfast and waiting for the flight to Philly. Check, check.

In the Phoenix terminal, browsing the breakfast options.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0