Day 3: New thoughts on rain - I'm your Huckleberry - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2016

Day 3: New thoughts on rain

I slept poorly last night. A cop stopped his car in front of the church for few minutes around midnight. I think he was was eyeballing me but I was under the protection of God so I wasnt worried. But thats not why I didnt sleep well, it was just one of those things. As a point of reference, I didnt sleep well at the nice hotel the previous night either. I think my body hasn't adjusted to the effort yet.

I was up at 5am and was out by 5:30 before anyone showed up. Leo once told me that there is something cool about camping in a stealth campsite and being up and out at day break, like you were never there, like the wind. I couldnt agree more.

The skies looked ominous and as I waited until 6am for the breakfast place to open I knew we would get some weather today.

It rained really hard for short bursts, then stopped, then started, with a few flashes if lightning just for fun, and every now and again the sun came out just to mess with peoples minds. It kind of reminds me of the weather on last years ride in Scotland, though without the 5 layers of wool clothes and subsequent hypothermia.

Weirdly enough, I also realized that I didnt mind riding in the rain as much as normal and I figured out that on a dedicated bike path you dont have to worry about cars. So maybe that is what makes riding in the rain unpleasent, the cars.

I also decided that I am enjoying the trail. I was not sure I would. Sometimes bike paths can be a bit boring. And I dont especially enjoy riding through miles and miles of forest, its like riding on a treadmill. Except I am enjoying the wooded parts on this trail because of all the birds sounds. Very pretty. A few times I turned on some music but then decided I liked the bird songs better. I can listen to music any time.

And even with large chunks of forest, there are enough open areas that makes it okay. I dont think I would want to ride this trail every year, but it is definitly a nice experience for now. This trail would be ideal for someone new to touring who is not yet confident in their riding, or for parents who want to introduce young kids to touring.

My goal was the town of Nisswa, but not before the little towns if Backus, Pine River and a few other places, all with Paul Bunyan related history.

I spent a little longer in Pine River than planned. The diner I stopped at on main street ran out of bacon for my blt wrap and someone had to run to the store for more. It seemed prudent to wait though, a special of a blt wrap, soda and small, sundae for $5 bucks cant be beat.

Nisswa turned out to be a nice little town, kind of touristy but nice restaurants and little shops. I was happy to get here and found a little hotel. There is no place to camp anyway and I am really tired.

Maybe I should take a nap...

Typical Paul Bunyan bike trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My feet are too small for Paul Bunyan shoes. You would think he would have had trouble chopping down trees with wooden shoes but what do I know?
Heart 2 Comment 0
It seemed like honoring the Paul BUnyan trail advocate is the right thing to do
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is his bike
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inside the Pine River welcome center on the trail. I felt welcome.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretDid you get a magnetic souvenir, Karen?
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
This is statue of Paul's main squeeze in Hackensack. I am unsure if they had children.
Heart 0 Comment 3
William EnyartThe sign says "Birthplace of Paul Jr." So it seems safe to say they had children, although Paul Jr could have had a mother other than Lucette.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Karen CookIt raises more questions than it answers, and puts the whole situation under a cloud of uncertainty. ;-)
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Karen PoretTo Karen CookAnd, sorry..that dress (skirt) shape…;(
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Colonel Cobber in Backus.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here is the full story of Colonel Cobber. Sorry about the resolution and my shadow in pic, but I figured you would likely lose interest after a few lines anyway, like I did.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretFlying Squirrel Studio..I’m in!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Bike work stations on trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Paul Bunyan footprints. Why he only took two steps is a mystery.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looks like small town in France. There are several last names that are the same.
Heart 1 Comment 0
MOOOOO....
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 238 miles (383 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0