Morton to Minier - Centered on Central Illinois - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2020

Morton to Minier

Heart 0 Comment 0

I started out at 11:08am on a route to Minier, but turned around after a mile, since I'd forgotten my safety flag. Restarted at 11:35am, stopping this time to pick up a pack of oatmeal-raisin cookies from The Confectionery. At 11:57am, I was back at the spot where I had turned around.

At 12:19pm I was on Allentown Road heading west where I stopped at Twigs Market, which appears to be a farm-based continuous garage sale. I didn't go into their barn (too crowded), but included below are a few of the items I saw outside.

At 12:45pm I was east of Tremont, and took a coffee/cookie break at the empty shelter behind their American Legion post.

I crossed the Mackinaw River on Townline Road at 2:00pm. There were several kayakers on the river. Only a few gnats by the river, and none elsewhere, since there was enough breeze to keep them away on the open road.

I approached Miner from the southwest on Stringtown Road, and was in town at 3:42pm. K's Cafe didn't open until 4:30pm, so after riding around some, I stopped at Minier Tap for supper, which was very good. The owner thanked me for stopping by.

I started the return trip at 4:45pm, noticing on my way that Minier's IGA had gone out-of-business. Straight north on Minier Road eventually got me to Fast Avenue two miles east of Mackinaw. The ride into Mackinaw was on a mile of "Fresh Oil" roadway and then a stretch of bike trail. I was downtown at 6:42pm, enjoying the small root beer float I'd grabbed just before from DeeMack's.

After crossing the river at 7:07pm was the climb out of the river valley. That went OK with a few breaks along the way.

I took my time after that to enjoy the breeze and the pleasant evening. Home at 9:01pm after 48 miles total. Google Map file attached.

(Sorry I forgot to mention last week's mileage for the Green Valley ride. That was 49 miles.)

Jeff

* 12:20pm - Twig's Market, rural Tremont *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 1:14pm - near Prairie Creek on Lake Windermere Road *
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like poison hemlock.
http://www.illinoiswildflowers.info/weeds/plants/poison_hemlock.htm
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
* 1:35pm - Ropp Lane *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 2:12pm - climbing out of Mackinaw River Valley on Hopedale Road *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 3:39pm - Minier from Stringtown Road *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 3:51pm - a downtown park, Minier *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 4:12pm - supper at Minier Tap *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 5:49pm - downhill toward Sargent Slough on Keyser Road (CR-3225E) *
Heart 2 Comment 0
* 7:04pm - Mackinaw River valley north of Mackinaw *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 7:39pm - looking east from Moore Road *
Heart 2 Comment 0
* 8:03pm - Robinson Road *
Heart 1 Comment 0
* 8:15pm - near sunset from Robinson Road *
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 137 miles (220 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0