Morton to Green Valley - Centered on Central Illinois - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2020

Morton to Green Valley

Heart 0 Comment 0

Last Saturday was another acceptable day for a bike ride - at least that's what I thought before I started. There were small gnats bugging me for much of the trip, and I couldn't pedal fast enough to out-run them! They looked more like baby flies when I made a close inspection. None-the-less, it was a good day.

I switched to my Trek Belleville for this trip, anticipating a few hills between here and my destination, which was Green Valley.

Left at 10:47am, and arrived in Green Valley from the north at 2:13pm. I stopped at Casey's for a Gatorade and snacks, having that with coffee and several gnats in Green Valley's Centennial Park. On my way out of town, I discovered that Dairy Freeze was open, so ate some more.

Cleared town at 3:40pm heading straight east. This route took me up a hill before I turned north (I could have routed that better)! I was finally on flat roads southwest of Tremont, and with some breeze now, the gnat plague was abated. Arrived home at 8:19pm - just before sunset (at 8:26pm).

Jeff

Pictures below, Google Earth map attached.

* 12:18pm - Leslie Farm Road *
Heart 2 Comment 0
* 12:32pm - looking north from Leslie Farm Road *
Heart 1 Comment 0
* 1:14pm - looking southwest from Lake Knolls Road *
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a species of Penstemon. Possibly foxglove Penstemon.
http://www.illinoiswildflowers.info/prairie/plantx/fx_penstemonx.htm
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks for all the flower identifications and the links you provided, which is interesting reading. It's nice knowing what I saw.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
* 1:31pm - Mackinaw River along Towerline Road *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 1:51pm - along Tazewell County CR-700N *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 3:13pm - Centennial Park, Green Valley *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 3:16pm - Dairy Freeze, Green Valley *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 3:23pm - more food! *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 3:35pm - along Main Street, Green Valley *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 5:22pm - downhill on Antioch Road *
Heart 0 Comment 0
* 7:16pm - Baer Road *
Heart 1 Comment 0
* 7:54pm - close to sunset along Fourth Avenue *
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 89 miles (143 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0