Day 2: The Ride Home - Pedaling and Shooting in Bavaria 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2019

Day 2: The Ride Home

Today rain is predicted for the afternoon so we are happy to be awake early and are in luck that breakfast is served starting at 7 a.m. It doesn't do any good to be awake early and then have to hang around for breakfast. The route today is shorter and flatter, too. It will be no problem to get back by noon, even at our slow pace. 

We no longer have yesterday's blue sky and pretty clouds. The sky is grey but the temperature is right and occasionally the sun peeks through the clouds.

We follow the track that Janos made and ride on quiet country roads for the most part. The views over the gentle hills and pastures are lovely. Lake Ammersee is again on our route but this time we touch the northern shore. With no sun the color scheme is quite different from the dazzling blue of the day before. As we get closer to home we are on a less scenic route but the cycling is easy, the paths are good and altogether we are very satisfied with our there-and-back ride through the Bavarian countryside.

Once we are back in Gauting, we stop at the local Vietnamese place for fried noodles. It's still not raining and we can sit outdoors for our meal. When it starts to rain - and it does start to rain, the weather forecast is uncannily accurate - we are already home, high and dry.

Our room in the guest house Zur Alten Post in Hofstetten - We were up under the eaves.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Setting out - the main intersection in Hofstetten
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wonderful views with a hint of the Alps in the distance
Heart 3 Comment 0
Not dramatic but very pleasing countryside
Heart 2 Comment 0
An amazing variety of wild flowers growing on the verge of the corn field
Heart 5 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThat's quite a variety of flowers!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
One of the many roadside crucifixes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some interesting art in the forest
Heart 2 Comment 0
Couldn't resist the opportunity for a selfie
Heart 4 Comment 1
Karen PoretLooks as if you were thinking the same thing I was, Suzanne ! ( except I probably would have taken a photo of the bicycle! :)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Commercial forestry: wood bundled and ready for transport
Heart 1 Comment 0
Love that tree
Heart 1 Comment 0
Subdued colors on the lake today
Heart 4 Comment 0
Mooooo
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 95 km (59 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Nancy GrahamClouds schmouds. You had beauty with or without blue sky ;-). Nice you were at home, high and dry, by the time the rain started. What a fantastic two day tour. I am a bit envious ;’-).
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Rachael AndersonI’m glad you avoided the rain and that you could get an early breakfast. I agree with you about waiting around. Great pictures! Looks like you have your camera on your bike. I hope it’s working out. I tried my camera on my Surley straggler which we are taking to Canada and found out it’s not high enough to avoid showing the handlebars, so I put in a rush order for an extension arm. I hope it comes when it said it should and it works.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen JonesI like how you phrased it: "It's still not raining." A miracle just for you and Janos so you can get out of the house.

Does Janos have e-assist on his bike? Do I remember right that he did not have that on his bike originally?

Thanks for the great photos, as usual. Really amazing how wonderful those GoPro stills are.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamRight, who cares about clouds, it's no rain that counts.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rachael AndersonYes, I mounted the cam on my bike and dispensed with my handlebar bag which was in the frame when I shot videos. The cargo bag in the back seems to be a good solution. Hope you get the extension in time for Canada!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kathleen JonesGlad you liked my pictures, Kathleen! Yes, Janos does have e-assist. He got it the same time I did. We are now on our second generation e-bikes, and I got mine a year earlier than he did. He absolutely loves the bike he has now.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gregory GarceauI look at your pictures and say to myself "I need a better camera." Then I remember that the art of photography involves a lot more than a good camera--like a good eye for a great shot.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Gregory GarceauThanks, Greg! Not that I think I'm that great, but yes, it is frustrating when people say 'you must have a good camera.' But it isn't necessarily talent or a good eye, either. It's practice and much time spent playing with my camera and learning.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Gregory GarceauI forgot to mention that I also do a fair amount of post processing. For me that is part of the art of photography.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesType your comment here
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Tricia GrahamThis makes me feel even more excited about where we will be in a weeks time. We may even see storks. Before they have always abandoned their nests when we get to Europe but this year we are leaving about 3 weeks earlier than normal
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Tricia GrahamAnd I think you are in for some good weather, too!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago