Day 35: Toulouse - Heidi Ho - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2012

Day 35: Toulouse

I’d like to tell you that something exciting happened today, but really, it didn’t. It’s probably just as well, after yesterdays “excitement.” That was enough “excitement” to last a while. Besides, I still have my cold. But I did force myself up and out to explore the town.

And I’m glad I did. I stopped at a Sunday market and sampled all kinds of local cheeses and street food. I looked at cool things like fresh vanilla beans. I’ve never seen real vanilla beans before. They smelled great! I almost bought some, but I have no idea what to do with them, and the vendor didn’t speak English to explain it.

After the market I walked around, all over town. People were out enjoying the day and, despite my cold, I had a great time.

Actually, one potentially exciting thing happened. When I was leaving my room this morning, to go down to the bakery, I noticed that the door to my room didn’t lock. It was one of those doors where you slide the card to open the door, and by accident I pushed on the handle and notice I could open the door with our without a key.

I went to the front desk and was told, “the door must be broken. I will have to put you in another room.” Which was fine, especially since she put me in a bigger, nicer room.

So, the “potential” excitement would have been coming back to my room to find all of my things gone. But that’s a little TOO much excitement, don’t you think? It also taught a valuable lesson—check the handle of the door without the card key to make sure it locks!

But as for the day, a picture is worth a thousand words. And since you don’t want you to read a thousand boring words, I’ll show you my pictures...

The Toulouse Capitolium, which I know you wanted to see
Heart 1 Comment 0
The courtyard of the Capitolium
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My hotel was down on the end of this street
Heart 0 Comment 0
This guy wanted to go for a ride, but my bike was locked in the hotel room, so...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riverside in Toulouse
Heart 1 Comment 0
A lotta people were out enjoying the day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looks like dancing lessons in the background
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yep, dance lessons.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
American Apparel? I gotta be honest. Looking at the manikins on the right...I haven't worn tube socks since the 70's. Someone at this store needs to take a trip to America and have a look-see...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whoa, those are some good look'n onions at the farmers market
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rip Curl!? What is this, San Diego?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0