Day 18: Lake Geneva - Heidi Ho - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2012

Day 18: Lake Geneva

Usually the day after a rest day, my legs feel like noodles, but that wasn't the case today. It helped that the route was relatively flat, and, of course, we stopped for coffee a lot. But also, we are in Switzerland!

We set off from Geneva and rolled alongside lake Geneva. And I”m not talking about Lake Geneva Wisconsin, where me and my friends would drive up to drink beer, because it had a lower drinking age than Illinois.... No, I”m talking about Lake Geneva in, well, you know.

Lake Geneva
Heart 0 Comment 0

We headed towards Lausanne. We decided it would be our destination because we wanted to see the Olympic Games museum.

Along the way we saw other sports being played. Namely, the world (or European, we couldn't determine) woman’s under 18 championships. But also, a human Foosball game! That's right, and I can't really explain it, I'll let the pictures do the talking.

See, I TOLD you! Human FOOSBALL
Heart 0 Comment 0

We also stopped at some of the cutest little Swiss towns, where, sometimes we got off and ambled around.

I have to say, Switzerland is a tidy little country. Not a hair out of place so far. Very picturesque.

But back to the Olympic Museum. It was closed :-P They had a small exhibit on a boat that we went to see and then it started to rain, hard, and for a while. So we ended the day with a pizza, and then back to the campground. Tomorrow we are hoping for sun.

OH! I almost forgot! We finally found gas for my stove, in a little camping shop in Switzerland. WOOO-HOOO!

There were purty scenes all day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lake Geneva
Heart 1 Comment 0
Leo and Steph. Notice the dedicated bike path right next to the main road. Way cool!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was playing with my underwater camera. This is a picture of Leo, taken from under water at fountain in a little town. Fun with cameras!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
A picture of the girls warming up. We didn't actually watch them play, just sort of peered in from over the fence. This country sure has first class sports and recreation facilities!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Clock tower in the little town of La Bourg
Heart 0 Comment 0
...and cute little house decorations in La Bourg
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another stretch of the bike route we followed...
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Olympic exhibit wasn't the best, but I did like all of the medals they had on display
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch on the lake
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 km (42 miles)
Total: 1,226 km (761 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0