And what's up with retirement, anyway? - Around a pretty big island - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2017

And what's up with retirement, anyway?

So why, exactly, are we subtitling this journal the LAST retirement tour?  It's to contrast it with The REAL first retirement tour, or loop from Saint Paul to Duluth last July, just after Rachael fully retired; which itself was subtitled to contrast it with The nearly first retirement tour, our tour of southern Utah the previous month, which we originally expected would celebrate Rachael's retirement until her contract was unexpectedly extended by another few months.

So, after 20 years as an IT developer, Rachael retired about half a year ago.  Since then, I've continued to work part time (which I've been doing for the last 6 years, ever since I retired from full time work after my own 30 year IT career).  I have to say, work starts losing its appeal pretty quickly when the other half of the team is happily staying at home while you're driving down to Salem to the office, riding her bike when the weather is fair or sitting by the fireplace reading when it's not.  Work was finally drying up for me anyway, but the annoyance of watching her enjoy herself like this helped speed up the decision. 

I've had a pretty great, rewarding career that I enjoy looking back on.  The work itself was very satisfying and challenging, and Rachael and I worked for employers that gave us space to take a sabbatical-like vacation every year that allowed us to explore the world by bicycle for the last 20 years, a month at a time.   But, enough is enough and it's time to get on with the rest of my life.

Stepping into the corporate world: in 1981, on my way to a job interview, posing with my son Shawn.  I'm 35 at the time, and Shawn is 9. I'm not sure, but I think this may be the only photo I have of myself in a suit.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Work will take it out of you, alright. Enjoy yourself, enjoy yourself, it's later than you think.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0