About the Heavy Rescue 2024 Solo Tour - ~ Heavy Rescue 2024 - Canada ~ - CycleBlaze

About the Heavy Rescue 2024 Solo Tour

An adventure designed around the TV series Highway Thru Hell

About:   The Heavy Rescue 2024 Solo Bicycle Tour begins with a two-day,  "cross country" commute on AMTRAK ~ Harrisburg, PA to Whitefish, MT., USA.   With a three-day, planned layover in Whitefish, I hope to make an out-and-back ride to West Glacier and Glacier National Park.  

Returning to Whitefish, I will head north into Alberta, Canada at the Roosville Border Crossing.   Trails and Highway 93 will guide me toward what many describe is the most scenic, 144-mile bicycle ride in the world ~ Icefields Parkway.  Passing through the Canadian Rockies the famous Icefields Parkway is home of two national parks ~ Banff and Jasper.  Hoping for a two-day layover in each mountain town.  

After leaving Jasper, my route takes me west past Mt. Robson before I turn west toward the towns of Kamloops and Merritt.  A planned bus shuttle will take me from  Merritt to Hope, BC, where I'll continue south southwest to Mission and Langley, BC.

From Langley, I'll travel to Delta, BC and the Vancouver (Tsawwassen)  to  Victoria (Swartz Bay) Ferry to Victoria Island.  The final 21 miles of the Heavy Rescue 2024, will take me to downtown Victoria and the Victoria Clipper Ferry Terminal.  The Clipper will whisk me to Seattle, WA, USA.  

The stop in Seattle will include a visit with my youngest son Dan and his wife Louise, and their adventure dog Mr. B.   This segment of the Heavy Rescue 2024 tour might just mark the most exciting and epic segment of this 1,000-mile adventure.  The details of this special event/surprise, is forecasted for my arrival ~ how special!

After what is anticipated to be a BIG CELEBRATION in West Seattle, the rails of AMTRAK will carry me back across the country past Whitefish and onward eastbound to where this dream tour began more than 30 days earlier!

Thank you for riding along on what should be an EPIC adventure!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Tamora StumSounds like a plan and another adventure hubby.....xoxox
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezWe are also aiming for an out and back foray up the Going to the Sun Road. Do you have a date? We are there on June 14th.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerKelly, I won't be there until July 25 ~ in Whitefish. Maybe you can share your experience, was hoping to stay in West Glacier then get a shuttle up to Logan Pass and ride down after the bike restrictions are over. (You probably know about the bike restrictions, if not see the Glacier National Park website.)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Tamora StumThanks Tamora for being so supportive of this crazy adventure; I hope it is as beautiful as they say it is!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Tamora StumThanks Tamora for being so supportive of this crazy adventure; I hope it is as beautiful as they say it is!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Daniel SpanglerLove you dog. You know I will miss you on this adventure. But I’ll be with you. We will have the rooftop tent ready for your arrival in west seattle.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Keith A. SpanglerThank you in advance for coming along in spirit! I know I'll be finding inspiration as I "find my way" down the road. LOL
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago