Day 15, Ely to Baker: Another "No-Service" Day - Searching For a Heart Attack on the Western Express - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2017

Day 15, Ely to Baker: Another "No-Service" Day

NOTE; You can leave a comment or question for us by using the “Comment” feature located near the bottom of the page. We enjoy getting these and will respond as soon as we have internet service (some places we stay don’t have it or the wifi is just too weak to be useable). Thanks!

Ely, NV to Baker, NV
Heart 0 Comment 0

Mileage Today; 63   Total So Far; 651   Remaining; 945

Climbing Today; 3,157   Total So Far; 36,947   Remaining; 63,171

Max Grade; 7.2%   Average Uphill Grade; 2.1%

Average Speed While Riding; 9.5 mph

Mechanical Issues; None

Photos Credit; Bud, unless noted otherwise

Printed On The Menu of the Kerouac Restaurant in Baker - It Seemed Fitting
Heart 0 Comment 0

Bud speaking;

The alarm was set for 3:30 this morning but I woke up 10 minutes early. After my breakfast, packing things and messing around with the bike a bit, I rolled out the door of the Ramada Inn at 4:30 a.m. The sky was completely dark as I left Ely, and I knew this meant that the cloud cover was complete as I couldn’t see any stars.

The Love Station Illuminated Against a Dark Sky
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was concerned about two things today; 1.) water, and 2.) water. Those really are two separate things. First I was concerned with having enough fluid with me to be able to make the ride to Baker since there's no services along the way. Secondly, I was concerned with the forecast, which indicated that thunderstorms were likely and that flash flooding was a real possibility. I had two mountain passes to cross this day and I knew that if I could crest Sacramento Pass before the storm started that I'd be alright since it was a downhill roll the rest of the way to Baker. Actually, thunderstorms are in the forecast for the next couple of days, so that's a concern, but right now my focus is just on getting through this day.  One day at a time; survive this day and then focus on the next. 

As always, I roll in the early mornings with my telephone lens mounted on the DSLR in hopes of seeing wildlife to photograph. I haven't been very lucky in Nevada so far, other than the coyote that I photographed earlier. So I was watching ahead in the hope of seeing elk (there were highway signs warning of elk), but such was not to be the case today. However, something small and furry crossed the road in front of me, and it looked like a small grey fox. I don't know if there are fox in this neck of the woods, but that's what it looked like. I circled back in the hope of getting a shot and I did see it pop up amongst the brush, but it was never clear enough or still enough for me to get a shot.

When the sun came out, there were just a brief moment before it was completely hidden by the clouds.

Just A Brief Glimpse of the Sun Before It Hid Behind the Clouds
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had been observing lights at the far end of the valley, and I wondered what it was since it was obviously a very significant structure that was being lit up. When I got closer I saw a sign that explained what I had seen.

I Was Surprised to See This Cluster of Lights at The Far End of the Valley - What Could it Be?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Riddle of the Lights is Solved
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mailbox For The Prison
Heart 0 Comment 0

Apparently, the prison is hidden off the road in a ravine or something such that you can’t see it as you drive by, but you can see the lights from the other end of the valley.

I was working steadily and constantly to reach the crest of the first pass. Since the sun wasn't out and I was sweating, I was getting chilled in the early morning air.

My Path Today Leads Through The Humboldt National Forest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Climbing to Connors Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I reached the crest, I donned my rain jacket, not for rain protection but for warmth. However, as I descended the other side of the pass, raindrops begin to fall as well. Now I was concerned that I was in for a day of rain, but it was just a light mountain shower and soon ended.

It Was Cold on Top With the Wind Chilling Me And A Few Raindrops
Heart 1 Comment 0
That Sign Means "Fun For Cyclists"
Heart 0 Comment 0

While traveling across the next valley, I occasionally got a few drops of rain on me from the clouds above, but nothing serious. There's a lot of moisture in the air here, apparently sub-tropical moisture that's moved up into Nevada, and the air and the heat has made things unstable and thunderstorms are expected. I just want to beat the thunderstorms to Baker for today, and then I'll look at the weather forecast and see what I'm going to do tomorrow. Tomorrow I have a 84 mile no-services section to traverse, and it’s the longest section of no-services on this entire route. But that's tomorrow, and today I need to think about getting to Baker.

The Next Valley is a Bit Misty and Rainy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wind Power - The First I have Seen in Nevada
Heart 0 Comment 0

I love photographing overcast days. If you watch for it, the clouds will occasionally break up and allow some rays of light to shine through.

Heavenly Rays Poke Through the Clouds
Heart 0 Comment 0

The wind generators were all lined up in neat rows;

I Guess Ducks and Wind Generators Both Need To Be Lined Up In A Row
Heart 0 Comment 0

I passed a small meat processing operation for wild game, and the entryway was lined with a lot of elk horns;

The Entryway Is Lined With Elk Antlers
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now I was hard at work climbing up Sacramento Pass. I felt a little urgency due to the expected rain later today.

Rugged Terrain As I Climb Up Sacramento Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Scenery Climbing Toward Sacramento Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0

This pass is about as far from Sacramento as a mountain pass in Nevada could be. So why is it called Sacramento Pass? I really didn’t care, I was just happy to have made it.

My Second Pass of the Day - I'm A Wee Bit Tired Now
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now I have a downhill run for 16 miles to the town of Baker! Even if the rains commenced now, I would be fine. I have encountered cattle guards that had no warning sign, so I was glad to see this sign.

Thanks For Posting The Warning Sign- They Don't Always
Heart 0 Comment 0

My route circumnavigated the northern end of the Great Basin National Park. Baker is an entry point into the park, and there’s a visitor’s center for the park in Baker.

My Route Circles Around the Northern End of the Great Basin National Park
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have been following Route 50 all the way since Carson City, but now my path deviates from it and will not return to it until Montrose, Colorado.

I'm Leaving Route 50 For The First Time Since Carson City
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Stargazer Inn in Baker had a notice that the office wouldn’t open until 2:00, so I had lunch and then looked for some photographic opportunities. Here’s a couple;

Scenes Around Baker; A Church Viewed Against the Rain Clouds
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking Towards the Great Basin National Park From Baker
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I checked in at the Stargazer, I barely had time to wheel my bike into my room before the rain started.

The Rain Commenced Right After I Got Into My Room
Heart 1 Comment 0

I ate at the Kerouac restaurant adjacent to the Stargazer, and enjoyed some conversation with a couple near me. I need to turn in early, because tomorrow is the longest no-services day on this route and I must traverse 84 miles of open country to reach Milford. Oh, the forecast is for thunderstorms and flash floods. Good night all…

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 649 miles (1,044 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0