Sierra Vista - Sonoita - I'm Happy To Be Here - CycleBlaze

November 27, 2021

Sierra Vista - Sonoita

This map does not include the five miles from our motel to the Visitor's Center, or the one mile I rode while leaving and coming back.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Jacinto says his legs are sore. He said the same thing yesterday. I think he’s trying to make me feel good. I can’t believe he is sore, because his standard ride around home is 50 miles and 3,000 feet of climbing. If he goes below either of those, he laments at length for doing less than he should. Me? I ride almost daily, because it’s my mental health break, and also because my back stiffens up if I don’t ride. In the fall, 20 miles is my average ride, maybe 30. I expected these big miles to wear on me. I’m happy that my legs are in the game. I still think Jacinto is being generous. It’s nice of him. He is extra nice going to get me Sonic burritos for breakfast this morning. The only breakfast item at the motel for me was instant oatmeal. I wanted to save my leftovers for later. 

I hope it doesn’t take too long to get passes. Jacinto says if it does, he’s going around. 

Later - My phone won't work here. Photos will have to wait until tomorrow. 

Jaicnto and I rode the five miles together to the Fort Huachuca Visitor Center to get a pass to ride the six miles through the base. There were 12 people ahead of us, and it took 20 minutes for one lady in her 70's (my guess on age) to be turned down for a pass. She asked why. The man told her he knew why, but he couldn't tell her, she had to ask her local police department. She looked like a typical little old lady, rather stylin' with her sequin covered sandals, and toenails painted with glitter and rhinestones. Maybe that's the sign that she wasn't really a typical little old lady, but one with a police record? Rest assure - I do not have rhinestones on my toenails. I should be fine to get in. Except, as soon as he turned down the woman, that clerk disappeared. What to do? At this rate it would take us more than two hours to get a pass. It as already after 11 AM. It wasn't a long ride, but it was 2,600 feet of climbing. We decided to leave. I didn't have route planned to go around. Jacinto made me one. I asked if I could go ahead and leave while he went to the bathroom. Sure, that's fine. I took off. a half mile down the road, my phone rang. It was Jacinto calling to say that there were now two clerks working and they were already up to number 96. We were 03 and 04. I turned around. I had barely entered the building when they called 03. The clerk helping me joked around and made it a pleasant process. He was quite sure I didn't have any weapons on my bicycle and guessed that I was going out through the west gate. Jacinto and I were both done in no time. In the end it took us an hour to get our passes. I asked if I could get a pass for more than a month, but you have to have an Arizona license to get a year pass. We received printed papers for passes. The last time we came through, we got ID cards, somewhat similar to a drivers license.

It was noon and I had ridden six miles. This is not my typical riding style. I ate a few bites of Sonic burrito (wait until you see the photo of what I received for $5.50!). 

Jacinto couldn't get any apps to route him through the base. He followed me to Canelo Road, a slow, uphill climb. I cut him loose. It didn't take long for him to disappear.

Looking at the elevation profile - there are two peaks of equal height. Which one was the official pass? I do not know. Neither one was marked as the pass. The climbing this far was easy. I used the granny gear for a couple of short climbs. Ah, life is good!

What I did not remember, and failed to take sufficient notice of, was the shark's teeth climbs today.  There was one very steep climb after another.  I do not have the technique to go bombing down one hill, and to be able to negotiate getting in the bottom of the granny for the next incline without going so slowly that I almost fall over, all while my legs are spinning madly, hoping to get purchase. 

This was not my idea of a good time. Jacinto was probably loving it, riding uphill with his tongue hanging out, smiling like a dog. That didn't come out sounding good - but you know what I mean? How a dog looks with it's head out the window of the car, loving life? That's Jacinto on the climbs. He's never met a climb he thought was too steep. Those are just extra fun challenges.

I arrived at the intersection of Highway 83, and turned right. The sharp descents and climbs continued. They should be finishing soon. I was on the back side of the Huachuca Mountains now and should be getting more to the grasslands. 

Going down yet another steep climb, I felt my rear wheel wiggling around. Noooo! This was not good. I walked to the top of the hill, mentally cussing the whole way. I texted Jacinto (wishing that he would be close enough to come back, knowing he wasn't). I also texted Spoon for moral support. Spoon answered. Jacinto was busy riding, I'm sure.

I settled myself on a rock with all of my flat changing equipment. I could hear a number of vehicles pass. None asked if I needed help. Perhaps I appeared competent? Just as I had the bike upright again, a white haired woman in a pick up truck asked me if I need help. Nope. I'm good now. 

Despite my dislike of steep climbs, and the flat tire (a thorn), today was my favorite day of the tour. I liked the good road surface, lack of traffic, and the mountain scenery. It's different mountain scenery than Colorado. Here it's cacti and some distant cedars of some kind. Perhaps pinion? Grasslands will surely be coming very soon. Then the climbing will even out, and become normal. 

I had 22 miles in and it was 3 PM. The shadows were lengthening. I tried to play the positive game with myself. Wayne says photos are better in the afternoon. I looked around and found a few things to take photos of. The shadows were interesting. Spoon had pointed out that I had plenty of time to get in before dark. That is true. The sun is going down, but now I'm on a downhill slant, and going faster than 5 mph. Wind was annoying. What happened to a tailwind? We've been on the road six days. We had a great tailwind into Tombstone. Then a horrible headwind to Douglas. A medium tailwind to Sierra Vista. The other days were headwind days, but not horrible. 

My phone rang. Jacinto was calling offering food. He knows as much as he loves climbing, I don't. I was surprised at my positive tone. Jacinto didn't say so, but I'll bet he was surprised also. He had ordered me a chicken salad from the Brewery. When I cycled past there, both parking lots were full, and there was a truck on the shoulder of the road. It's a good thing I wasn't hoping to get a table inside.

As I came into town, I could see traffic on Highway 92. So close, but not there yet. As I pulled into the parking lot, Jacinto opened the door. He had been waiting for me. He had been in for two hours! 

We are in the Vaca Ranch room. It is not the room I expected, but is fine. It's big enough that our bikes are allowed in the room. When I made the reservation, I was told, depending on the size of the room (their judgement), depends on if the bikes can go in the room, or in storage.

It took me four hours to ride the 30 miles from the visitor's center. It was hard, but I feel good. I've had a shower, and fixed the flat tire. I checked that in the sink. It's a good repair. Jacinto has topped off the air pressure on my tire. He was watching a college football game in Michigan. It was snowing HARD. Here we are in sunny Arizona, touring in November. What is a little headwind and a flat tire against the chance to tour this time of year?

We are eating food in the room. I have the salad, Jacinto has chicken tenders. He's been to the gas station and bought a beer. I got a hard cider. 

I bet I sleep well tonight.

$5.50 for a burrito without a tortilla at Sonic. Not a good deal!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We rode together to the visitor’s center.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bill, are these giant broom plants? The fuzz was flying in the air.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The West Gate was manned today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My favorite scenery photo today.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bill, can you see these little yellow seeds.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think these is where I picked up the thorn that gave me a flat tire.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is the majority of Canola.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m so late today that even the cows are heading home.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Almost to Sonoita.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Marcela I.The blues of the sky are perfect the way they fade slowly. Reminds me of a photo I took of the sky when I was in Arizona. The sky and the blues were my favorite part of it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Marcela I.I like windmill photos almost as much as barn photos. I haven’t seen any barns here. Usually, I don’t see windmills!

I think blue skies are a must, living in Colorado.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
These Longhorns refused to look at me and be picturesque.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo on the base.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This map shows our route only from the visitor's center. It does not show the five miles to get there, or my bonus mile, leaving and coming back.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 286 miles (460 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1