Julian Wash - East and West - I'm Happy To Be Here - CycleBlaze

November 29, 2021

Julian Wash - East and West

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today is a day of leisure for Jacinto. He has a plane to catch this evening. I thought he might like one more ride, but Jacinto didn't want the pressure of riding and being back at a certain time. I went for a ride. We are south by the airport. I don't ride the bike path in this area too frequently, as we usually stay to the north. I made a simple route, riding to the west, retracing my steps, and then riding to the east, and then back again.

I took the back road route via Corona and Swan, to miss most of busy, four lane Valencia. I was to the bike path in five miles. 

I've found that the southern portion of The Loop doesn't have as much action as the northern part. The bicycle watching wasn't good today. I saw perhaps 15 cyclists total. One orange high racer recumbent, and one trike with full panniers and a side bar bag. The trike rider was very tan. 

The wind was blowing strongly from the east again. Depending on the direction, I was either going 20 mph, or 7 mph. By accident, my route finished so I had a strong tailwind back to the motel. I had planned to be back by 2 PM, and made it with 9 minutes to spare.

I showered and we went to the grocery for lunch deli items. I bought more bars and apples, for my trip with Jan. 

We had a moment of panic at the grocery when Jacinto pulled the sliding van door open without unlocking it first. ! ! ! We tried that several more times. One sliding door does not lock! How long has it been that way? I do not know. We eventually figured out that the door would lock with the child lock. Now it doesn't open at all, unless we switch the child lock. That is ok. At least the bikes will be secure when we leave the van in December. 

We ate our picnic in the room. Jacinto took nothing back with him besides a jacket. He changed shorts for pants, in concession to Colorado weather. We generally travel light, but he has nothing at all! I kept asking him if he needs this or that (such as his toothbrush) - no, he has extras of all of those things at home.

I walked Jacinto to the airport, and left him at the door. Now I am on my own until Wednesday at noon. Jan is going to drop HER husband off at the airport, and pick me up. She is going to figure out a non bicycling activity for us in Tucson for the afternoon. Then our tour starts Thursday.

That leaves me with finding a ride for tomorrow. 

I'm enjoying my quiet room. I have a new book to read. I'm happy, maybe a little boring, but happy. I'm also not the 70 year old lady with the rhinestone toenails who has a police record and can't get on the military base!

I’m wearing shorts for the first time this tour!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Artwork on Julian Wash.
Heart 2 Comment 0
My favorite artwork on the whole loop.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Scott AndersonHigh on my list too, but I really like those aerial bats along Rillito Wash.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The tattoo says, “life is short, enjoy the ride”.
Heart 2 Comment 3
Scott AndersonGreat words to live by.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettIs this your leg, Kelly?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo marilyn swettNo! Some random cyclist going past. I asked if I could
Photo his leg.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scenery along the way.
Heart 4 Comment 1
marilyn swettLooks familiar!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
More scenery.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I could look at this all day. It is unusually satisfying for me.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 372 miles (599 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0