Day6 - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2018

Day6

Lookout Kentucky to Hindman Kentucky

Every time I saw one of these signs the road went up
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today was about going the distance, expending as little energy as possible. Easier said than done, three big climbs today. The first one I rode 3/4 the way up before walking, the second one I wrote halfway up, the third one I walked the whole way. I'm not going to lie,The climbs wear on you, and the cumulative effect of all the climbing just wears me down.

The hell hounds were out in force again, I had a few dog encounters, one was funny, one was sad, and the third one left me awestruck. The first encounter is I was plugging along I saw a nice house with a fence, nice fence, with a gate. The dog came running across the yard, I said no problem, fence, gate,No, that dog went under the gate without even breaking stride. Oh crap, I couldn't go much faster but a few "You go home" in a loud commanding Manner and he went home. The second one was kind of sad, I heard and then saw this cute black dog. He was barking and wagging his tail, no house around, and he was really skittish. I think he was a dump dog. I put the back of my hand out so he could check me out, he was having none of it.... at first. He would circle around and get a little closer each time. Finally he did sniff my hand and ran away about 4 feet. Smart dog though, he checked both directions of the road before stepping onto it. The third one happened coming off one of the mountains,on a flattish part but still moving at a good clip. He was a little guy, he tore across the yard and up the driveway. I'd already flew past him, I'll bet it was 60 yards before he hit the road, he tore down that road for 200 yards at Full Tilt. I just feel sorry for the poor cyclist that going eastbound because they would be slogging up the hill.

I made it to Hindman, they have a cyclist hostel here. I had trouble finding it, according to instructions on the map it was just behind the courthouse up this super Steep Hill. I walked up the hill asked a couple of people and they didn't know. Well this sucks, I don't have another 20 miles in me to go to Combs, and it's getting late. I go to the Pizza Shop near the courthouse. The guy there said yeah just go across the street to that house and Steve will fix you up. Steve did. Steve said where I went was the right place but the guy who runs it is having health problems and is not taking cyclist in. So Steve stepped up and is filling  the need. I'm staying in the student Ministry building.I got a pizza from across the street.

Yay, a downhill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Flat now but that will change
Heart 0 Comment 0
The stuff you see on a bike trip a tank in the shopping center
Heart 0 Comment 0
Well I'm here, but where is the cyclist hostel?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 314 miles (505 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Donna GrunkemeierWay to go John! Sounds like you could use a rest day in there.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
James AllenJust remember, the dogs are just interval training.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
John GrunkemeierTo James AllenThat's more like CrossFit 45 lb and 40 lb worth a stuff on it
Reply to this comment
5 years ago