Day 49Holbrook- Winslow,Az. - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 10, 2018

Day 49Holbrook- Winslow,Az.

Semi rest day

 Short day almost like a rest day, Rode on I-40 all day and that will be the norm for the foreseeable future. I'll have a couple other roads but mostly the interstate. Not a very interesting day for sightseeing pretty flat with scrubby bushes. Went through Joseph City nice little town looks better than most that I've been through. I stopped at the Jackrabbit Trading Post, snapped a couple of pictures and was off again 10 miles down the road as I was weaving through some truck debris, when all of a sudden I heard a grating noise and I couldn't pedal. I look down to see a wad of bailing wire stuck in chain. Upon closer inspection it was caught in the derailleur and then wrapped around the non-drive side of the Hub. I got out my mini multi-tool and used it to cut the wire loose,the rest I just Unwound from The Hub, but I had to take everything off the bike to unwrap this mess. Then put the bike back together. Not fun. In the process I destroyed the Mini Multi Tool,  Really could of used those dikes I didn't pick up on the way to Edmond Ok ( day 28).

Once I got to Winslow I did a little bit of sightseeing, went to the  standing on the corner Park. It's a little different then the last time I was here. The wall with the artwork used to be a building the building has since burnt down so it's just a wall now. Where are the building used to be is a nice little park with a stage at one end. I cruised around town to see if there was more to the town, nice downtown area. One thing I did check out on my way in to Winslow was the 9-11 memorial, it had to beams from the Twin Towers, and the flag that flew over the Pentagon on 9-11.

This picture is for my daughter ,We took some funny pictures involving the dinosaur.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did the last time I was here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The jack rabbit Trading Post
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 2,677 miles (4,308 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0