Day 47 Gallup,NM- Chambers,Az - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 9, 2018

Day 47 Gallup,NM- Chambers,Az

Sleet seriously...it's just part of the adventure

The ride today was quick for two reasons number one 47 Mi equals a short day, number two rain and hail, I put the hammer down to get into Chambers. There's no other place until Holbrook which is 70 miles more by the ACA Maps, and fifty miles more straight on I-40. I packed up had breakfast, as I was turning my key in I met a couple of other cyclists in the breakfast area. We chatted a bit, they weren't ready to leave, I was,so I left. They're going the same way I am ,West so we'll see each other in the future. They are doing the tour a little differently, one drives a pickup truck and the other two ride, they ride for two days and drive for a day. Not really the way I'd want to tour, but to each their own.

It was overcast and cool in the high 30s when I left, it never warmed up past 45 degrees. The weather looked ominous, but it wasn't raining or windy. Stopped at a rest area at the state line, snapped a picture of the State sign and put another sticker on the bike. From there the weather deteriorated, at first it was spitting rain, then the rain got heavier, a little sleet or frozen rain. I don't know what it was but it's stung when they hit me in the face I got to I-40 probably earlier than the maps said to get on the interstate and it was somewhat downhill, with the trucks whizzing by it creates a kind of Tailwind ish affect. So I was smoking along at 18 sometimes 22 miles an hour for the last 25 miles. I didn't stop after the rest stop until I pulled into the motel parking lot.Motel, Resterarant,and Convenience Store that's all there is to Chambers,Az.

Arizona doesn't participate in Daylight Savings time so when I got here it was 11:30 a.m.

New state
Heart 0 Comment 0
New sticker
Heart 0 Comment 3
Mike AylingHow do you obtain the stickers?

Mike
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
John GrunkemeierMcLean Texas at the Route 66 historic and transportation museum
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
John GrunkemeierTo John GrunkemeierI'm mistaken it was Elk City Oklahoma
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Much better looking skies than yesterday,I stopped at the same spot trying to decide to go or stay. The Sky was black.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 2,586 miles (4,162 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0