Day 46 Gallup-Gallup - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 7, 2018

Day 46 Gallup-Gallup

Winter storm,I'm staying put

Today was a bust for traveling. I packed up and took off, with a full Hotel breakfast. The wind was blowing out of the west southwest and it was coolish about 50 degrees. By the time I got into the other end of town all I could see were very ominous black clouds, I pulled into a Love's truck stop to sit and wait and check the radar. While waiting the skies dumped Heavy Rain, the radar showed heavy rain and snow in the higher elevations. I sat there for an hour and realized it wasn't going to get any better, when I went back outside the temperatures had dropped,it was 50 degrees now it's 45 degrees. That temperature with the rain and wind was going to be a dangerous combination in my opinion. As I'm writing this entry the temperature is 39 degrees My target was only 45 miles away but with the wind I figure it would take me to the better part of six hours. My hands were already cold, evidently the gloves I chose for this little adventure are not up to the task. After checking back into the Days Inn. A trip to Walmart's hunting section was in order. $38 later I've got waterproof heavy gloves, and another long sleeve base layer. I'm hanging out in the room, boring ,at least it's Sunday so there is something on TV besides daytime TV. Tomorrow's weather is supposed to be only intermittent rain, we'll keep our fingers crossed that it won't be a washout.

Gallup New Mexico is a train town, for me to go to Walmart I've got across three sets of train tracks. Which means the chances of waiting for a train is almost a given. They aren't short trains either, from the time the crossing gates close it takes 7 to 10 minutes for them to pass that doesn't sound like much, but when you get stuck coming and going in the wind driven rain it's a lot. But hey, coming back from Walmart my hands were warm, so I'm hoping these new gloves will work better when it's cold.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 2,539 miles (4,086 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0