Day 44 Grants-El Morro National Monument - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 5, 2018

Day 44 Grants-El Morro National Monument

Over the Continental Divide I go

Packed up and got out at 7:45 and Brrr it was 35 degrees. As I made my way out of town, I was on the lookout for some place to eat. The motel had coffee, mini donuts, and cereal all of which I helped myself to. But I was pretty sure I wasn't going to find anywhere else after I left town. Sure enough right at my turn to head out of town was a McDonald's ordered what I always do a senior coffee and 2 breakfast burritos. On my way in I noticed a bicycle and trailer in the parking lot. I found the guy, Tom was his name. We chatted a bit and we went our separate ways, he's going east.

The ride out to El Morro started out nice and flat, that would not continue since the road goes over the Continental Divide. The wind didn't start until noon, with a cool mornings it takes a while for everything to heat up and create the wind. Did a selfie and a picture of the bike in front of the Continental Divide sign. I've gone over three passes now and Nary a sign. First sign picture yay. El Morro Campground is your basic dry camping, there is water here though there are only 9 sites and I was lucky to get one. El Morro is a No fee National Monument, so that means free camping. I'm hoping to see really good stars out here there's not a lot of light pollution.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Tip, don't do selfies with signs in them
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's not Hoosier pass but I'll take it
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
First look at El Morro
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near Sunset
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home for the night
Heart 0 Comment 0
Playing around with the light at Sunset
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 2,459 miles (3,957 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0