Day 43 Albuquerque-Grants NM - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2018

Day 43 Albuquerque-Grants NM

Lost in Albuquerque long day on the road

The hostel owner ,Joel opened up the Bike Locker early for me, I got up early to eat and get going. I'll give you a guess if it happened that way, if you guess no, you'd be right. I started writing yesterday's journal entry, and before I knew it it was 7:30. Oh no I've got to go, I was following the maps and ended up in a shopping center. I ask a guy for directions his name is Manuel, he showed me how to get out of town. Great and funny guy.

Don't go food shopping when hungry, I overbought so the food pannier is heavy, but I've got food for a couple of days. It was a long day, average amount of climbing not a lot. The scenery was beautiful and of course there was wind. Between the later start, the map screw up , and my too Long first break I was doing an individual time trial Against the Wind and daylight for the last 28 miles. I didn't win that race I pulled into Grants after dark. I was about a mile from the RV Park that I had planned to stay at, and I hit Hotel row. I said to self, let's see what these cost, not bad. A little more than I'd like to spend, especially after staying an extra day at the hostel. I called the RV park and asked what their rates were, $28 plus tax for a tent site. Okay that's pricey. I had to spend a lot at the KOA in Romeoville, but I had no choice and I knew it would be expensive so I bit the bullet. Here I had choices, I found a room in an older hotel from the 50s for $31 plus tax I chose the motel it had pretty good reviews. Was a nice room they had a continental breakfast.

I'm not going to be near I-40 for a couple of days so it may be slow two post for the next 2 days.

Two things to add, on my first break it was too long, but there was a reason. A guy came up and wanted to pick my brain about bike touring, but of course my trip also. We probably talked for 30 minutes, good talk though. The second thing I get a lot of toots of encouragement, when I was in Oklahoma City for example it seem like every fifth car would toot and give me a thumbs up.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Manuel the man who showed me the way to get out of town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road goes on forever
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at this Minefield of a truck shrapnel,It's not the big pieces they're easy to miss,It's the tiny pieces you can barely see in the pictures that'll get you.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
These three Brainiacs decided to unload their Harleys in the middle of the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
They could have done it at the truck stop two miles up I-40 or at the rest area
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I made it, this was taken the next morning
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 miles (135 km)
Total: 2,412 miles (3,882 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0