Day 42 Albuquerque@The Mother Road Hostel - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 3, 2018

Day 42 Albuquerque@The Mother Road Hostel

Fun with tire sealant

The hostel folks locked the bike up inside the building. Good thing too, they said bike thefts in the city are crazy high. They told me don't leave your bike. Locked or unlocked.

I pulled the bike out to pack up and go, front tire had a slow leak. The Southwest has goat head Thorns, I was warned about them by Yates in Santa Fe. I bought the sealant I just hadn't gotten around to putting it in the tires. Yesterday in haste to escape the rain I ran through some gravel and in Sandy areas. So I guess I picked up some thorns. So I guess I'll fix it and put in some sealant. YouTube to the rescue, found out how to do it. Put a patch tube in the front tire, ran my fingers around inside the tire expecting the feel sharp points nope, nada, nothing. finished with a tube install put sealant in aired up the tire.  I found about three places where the sealant was coming through and sealing it up, yay it worked. I only bought one bottle of sealant and I still had the rear tire to do. So I'm off to a bike shop by the time I got back it was too late to get the 73 miles to Grants. I'm staying here another night which is good because I've been riding nine days and could use the break. I went to check out Old Town, it's similar to Santa Fe, but less crowded and more laid-back. It was a good day.

Heart 0 Comment 0
The front of the hostel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old Town Plaza
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Only in Old Town would you find a Wendy's that look like this
Heart 0 Comment 0
I guess it's a famous restaurant,At least to Garcia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 2,328 miles (3,747 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0