Day 37 Tucumcari-Santa Rosa,NM - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 28, 2018

Day 37 Tucumcari-Santa Rosa,NM

Good wind from the East

Today was the first day of very limited services on route. The ACA Maps tell you what kind of service you can expect. There's a footnote next to Tucumcari very limited services for the next 62 MI. They weren't wrong one store at the halfway point, in one town Newkirk New Mexico. All I saw was a store but next to the store is a post office, so it's a town.

Packed up early and stopped in at an iconic diner, for pancakes and coffee. Then off to work. The first seven or eight miles we're on I-40. Then on Frontage roads. 10 miles past the "one store" the ACA maps wanted me to go on another road going south and then picking up another Highway heading Northwest. Sometimes these map send you off an indirect way. I've seen and I'm going to see a lot of the desert Southwest  just to add a few more miles I didn't want to do that. I looked at Google Maps and found  that I-40 was about a straight shot to Santa Rosa. A sign said I could ride on the shoulder only, Yeah, like I'm going to ride with 75 mile an hour traffic in the traffic Lanes. I saw a sign that said it was 17 miles to Santa Rosa. Okay 17 miles on the interstate, I can do this. After the first Hill, it was downhill and with the Wind. I forgot to mention I had a light Tailwind all day long. Once the day heated  up the little Tailwind got stronger. Between the tail wind and the slight downhill, I was like a guy on a solo Breakaway. I know I covered it last 17 miles in way less than an hour. I'm tucked in a Motel 6 ( they left the light on for me). Camping with this wind is is no fun. The campground in town wants $20 plus taxes for a primitive tent site, no thanks. I got a room for less than double that.

Heart 1 Comment 0
That's the next service 41 miles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 2,096 miles (3,373 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0