Day 35 Amarillo-Adrian,Tx - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 26, 2018

Day 35 Amarillo-Adrian,Tx

Easy spin with a tailbreeze

The weather guessers said it might be rainy, but definitely cool and cloudy. Cool was an understatement, it was 50 degrees when I walked out of the hotel this morning. No rain though. All fueled up with a hotel breakfast which included a bowl of cereal, banana, yogurt, waffle, and muffin. I love bike touring, eat almost anything and still lose weight.

First thing was to get out of town, which was easy. Stopped at a coffee shop and got some real coffee, Hotel coffee was bad. Had a nice chat with a couple of people there at the coffee shop. We chatted about other things besides my trip, which I love to do. If that's all the conversation I have it gets boring though. Then it was off to Cadillac Ranch, I almost missed it. The ACA maps had me take a road that paralleled the Frontage Road. I'm riding along and I look to the left on the other side of the interstate, I see cars on end, well that's got to be it. I stopped pull up Google Maps to find a way over there. I backtrack a quarter of a mile, road goes right over I-40 to the Frontage Road, turn right and go up about a half a mile and there it was. It's quite an attraction. 10 Cadillacs planted nose first, the artist wanted it to be Interactive and encouraged people to spray paint the cars. The cars have thick coats of paint from years of interaction. The surrounding field is littered with paint cans, and plastic tops. Once I finished there I was off toward Adrian. I pulled into Vega Texas a booming metro area of little less than 900 people. I discovered a grocery store and stocked up my food pannier,it was lacking a few ingredients, mostly protein since I ate the last tortilla last night I picked up some more of those packed the bike up with my purchases. And I was off to Adrian 14 miles up the road.

Adrian Texas's claim to fame is its the midpoint of Route 66. Chicago to Los Angeles. Of course they have a photo op Park. I'm camped at midpoint RV park, and because there are storms in the area the park manager is letting me stay in the laundry room so no pitched tent and a quick getaway in the morning.

As I have mentioned before, the world is in love with Route 66. Today as I was making my way down the road a car pulled up beside me with an Asian couple in it they wanted a picture action shots if you will. I waved while riding, so I'm immortalized in somebody's trips pictures.

Cadillac RV Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Saw this and almost fell off my bike laughing
Heart 1 Comment 0
There it is Cadillac Ranch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mmm,love those fried tators
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
All 10 of them just lined up
Heart 0 Comment 0
Woo yoo,I'm half way done,Not really more like two thirds of the way done
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the main street of Adrian,Tx
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the other view of the Main Street
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home for the night
Heart 1 Comment 0
Warm and dry, and no tent to pack up
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,972 miles (3,174 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0