Day 33 Sayre,Ok to Alanreed,Tx. - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 24, 2018

Day 33 Sayre,Ok to Alanreed,Tx.

I swear I saw the Wicked Witch of the West Blow by today

Today started off cool and cloudy, like yesterday. I made my first stop in Erick Oklahoma for coffee and a fried pizza turnover, but mostly coffee not the best breakfast but it was good. The wind started up during the break I took. A crosswind / headwind out of the Southwest. I knew it was going to be a slow day. So Alanreed,Tx was the place I was going to stop for the night.

A lot of Route 66 is Frontage Road right next to the interstate it's the original Road. The road surface varies greatly from fairly smooth concrete,to rough chip seal. The concrete parts have the normal Expansion Joints, but also cracks and patches it makes you pay attention and choose a line that looks a little less bumpy. The asphalt parts are smooth ish it usually has some wavy bits and some truck tire marks that I guess they drove on it before it was set. The chip seal is just rough and heavy ,tires just don't want to roll easy over it one section was so rough a gravel road would have been preferable.

My last stop I got a chocolate milkshake man that thing was good, an ice cold pick me up to slog along for the last 8 Miles to Alanreed.

Even though it was very windy day went smoothly the early start helped. I'm on the leeward side of the motel fixing my dinner and watching the sunset.

#Living the Dream.

In the last two days I've had two dog encounters,silly dogs ,I'm not afraid of you,bark all you want,but get too close and give you something to bark about.they come out and charge and bark,it seems to confuse them when I am not afraid,and stare at them which is a sign of aggression it messes with their heads.

I've met people from all over the world on this trip it seems the world is in love with Route 66. Tonight I was fixing my dinner I went over to the bike and a guy was standing behind the building and he asked me about camping I told him go to the red door which is the motel office and they take care of the camping also. Didn't think anything more of it.I saw him go in there and then five minutes later I see him riding off towards I 40. I have no idea what transpired the guy was Japanese didn't speak great English ,but reasonable English I have no idea why they didn't let him Camp here. It was an older couple maybe they just I have old ideas or something, I don't know.

Windmill art
Heart 0 Comment 0
Can you guess which direction the wind normally blows
Heart 0 Comment 0
Route 66 divided highway
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is what happens when the interstate misses your town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Same town big intersection
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Same town, bar and convenience store
Heart 0 Comment 0
New state
Heart 0 Comment 0
New sticker on the bike
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting way to hang a flag
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
You know you're in the west when you see these kind of speed limits
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The next sign after this is supposed to say going west but someone stole it
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Watching the Sun go down
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 1,845 miles (2,969 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0