Day 25 Carthage Missouri- Vinita Oklahoma - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 16, 2018

Day 25 Carthage Missouri- Vinita Oklahoma

Oklahoma is not flat, it's not Missouri but it's not flat

Today I got an earlier start, Baxter Springs was the goal for the day. I got there at 11:30, they allow camping in the park, but I didn't want to set up and go check around town, and leave all my stuff there. I also didn't want to hang around town until 6 p.m. to set up. I might as well pedal bike for 6 hours and be at a campsite in Vinita Oklahoma. So off I went. The riding was on mostly high speed and high traffic roads, but I had a shoulder all day long. The day started off going through two small towns, on the way to Joplin Missouri. I had second breakfast in Joplin, while there I ran the mileage numbers to make sure I could get to Vinita, at that point remember I wasn't going past Baxter Springs. In Galena Kansas I met a couple from Italy, at what they thought was a Roadside Attraction. It was a ghost bike memorial for people hit on Route 66. They didn't speak much English and I speak no Italian. But they had hello and bye-bye down pat. I met another couple from Indiana, at a marker of some of the original 9 foot wide Route 66 roadway, seem pretty narrow even for the twenties and thirties when it was built. We exchanged phones to take pictures of each other and they wanted to know about my trip.Lunch stop was at the Buttered Buns Cafe, and an excuse to get out of the Heat. I had the roast beef plate with two sides ,green beans and mac and cheese ( I'm trying to get veggies in the diet, not always an easy task).

Today I was in three different states. Missouri Kansas and Oklahoma. Finished up Missouri Rode in Kansas for a total of 17 miles, and ended up in Oklahoma I'm camped in a Motel/ RV park,.The Park Hill Motel and RV Park sounds kind of nice ,It wasn't. Buggy as hell, but it's cheap $10 for a tent site.

One of the little towns I came across early in the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Webb City small town America
Heart 0 Comment 0
Woohoo new state
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More Route 66 stuff
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Do you see the difference from a couple of days ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Woohoo another new state
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Original Route 66 9 ft wide roadway
Heart 1 Comment 0
The couple I met from Indiana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 81 miles (130 km)
Total: 1,400 miles (2,253 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0