Day 17 Marion Kentucky to Tunnel Hill Illinois - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2018

Day 17 Marion Kentucky to Tunnel Hill Illinois

Today was hill repeats

 today was a great ride, very hilly, but interesting. We crossed the Ohio river and I'm in a new state Illinois. The ferry ride was a short one to Cave in the Rock, Illinois there's a cave on the River where Pirates would prey on river traffic ,pretty cool place, it was used in the movie How the West Was Won.  Jimmy Stewart pulled in with his canoe full of Furs, and the pirates tried to rob him.The rest of the day was up one Hill and down the next. Very tiring. It was a hot afternoon was pretty draining. The roads were quite traffic free for the most part. We stopped in an Amish store we heard about ,One side of the store was a general store kind of stuff, the other side was all furniture, really nice pieces. I wrote "WE" because I'm riding with the couple from the UK. They are 25 so we rode together for a while ,they ride faster than I can,when they stop I catch up. The ACA Maps has us on Route 91 to cross the river and then a little road which paralleled state road 146 then that Road put us out on 146. Then we were on State Route 146 for a good while then it was State Route 145 at Eddyville Illinois. In a few small roads to Tunnel Hill. I'm hoping tomorrow won't be as hilly, but we'll see.

A funny thing happened as I was heading to a state park to camp, I still had about 10 miles to go. I was watching the skies get darker and darker. This woman was standing in the driveway and motioning to me, I thought she was waiting for me so she could cross the road and check her mail. As I passed I realized she was indeed motioning to me. I asked her if she wanted me to stop and she said yes. She said she was a warm showers host and that if I kept going I'd get wet. She offered me a Homestay and I eagerly accepted it. Turned out the couple I met yesterday are here too. So I'm dry, clothes washed, great meal and a bed. Yay

Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice looking clouds
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical Road today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bicycle rest stop with phone charging station
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the Ohio River on the ferry
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me looking like I have no clue
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nice piece of waterfront property
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 900 miles (1,448 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0