Day 10 - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2018

Day 10

Berea to Haroldsburg,Ky

Today was another hot one, but what do you expect in August. Good ride, the ACA Maps had me going left right up and down. The signage for the route has been great, I do check the maps frequently but just watching for the little 76 bike green signs. Half the time I'm not sure what road I'm on I'm just following the little green signs.

Just to show you how close to touring Community is. I was having lunch, really just an excuse to get out of the heat. A cyclist rides up on a Touring bike but no luggage. A local guy, he comes into the Subway and we start in with the touring talk. He says to me what are you going to do about the bridge construction, of course I said what,where ,what bridge construction. He said on 152 the roads are going to be on when you roll out of here. Oh crap, So how do you suggest I get around it. He told me a route it started on US. 27 good road large shoulder, not a lot of trucks shrapnel on the shoulder, the next Road was was great large shoulder. And then it wasn't, very stressful riding. The shoulder just disappeared on a downhill, suddenly I'm playing in traffic, and mixing it up with a Chevy truck. A close encounter, it all worked out. The last Road in this little 15 Mile detour, it was alright not ideal, but better than the rest. At the corner of 33 and 152 the end of the detour I happened upon a Dairy Bar that's what they called an ice cream shack in this part of the world they had milkshakes milkshakes are similar to chocolate milk only better I ordered the salted caramel. Yep it was good. I landed in a Baymont hotel, after camping for 5 days I need a bit of a break. Tomorrow I'm off to Louisville so I'll be offline for a couple of days but I'll be back.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Great get me the hell off of this road
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 486 miles (782 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0