The Deep Dark Forest - Grampies Fall for the Islands Fall 2019 - CycleBlaze

October 29, 2019

The Deep Dark Forest

Even though the heart of the Gulf Islands is little more than 50 km from our home, the forest, lands, and waters there are just that little bit different  that they opened our eyes wider to the beauty of our entire region. So it was that cycling along on Galiano Island (Day 7) I felt that I ought to take the definitive photo of the deep dark forest that surrounded us. I gave it a try, but my point and shoot Canon kept insisting on making a dull, factual properly lighted, record of a few trees. No big deal. I promised in the blog to show a forest photo that hangs on our wall at home - one done by a real photographer with a real camera.

Well, here it is. Except it was hard to get the lighting right, to shoot through the frame glass, and to get the whole photo in the shot. Ultimately, my toy camera did not do much better with the wall photo than it did with the real forest. Anyway, here it is:

A poor shot of half of a great photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We were in a book store with Joni today, and I came across a volume that went even further in shaking my confidence. Titled 'The Salish Sea, Jewel of the Pacific Northwest", it tackled much of the theme of our entire blog, and it did it with great photos. 

Ok fine, but I have Sea Lions!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The photos in the book, of course, include the deep dark forest. Here is my poor copy of one of those photos:

Heart 0 Comment 0

The darn bookstore in fact had a lot to challenge my self confidence. Look at this other illustrated book!:

Heart 0 Comment 0

No worries, though. I am supremely unaffected. For one thing, these authors do not have the endorsement of Scott Anderson, one of Cycleblaze's best photographers. Scott seemed to like that shot from Day 7!  What's more, who can beat the suspense and pathos of, for example, the near Presta Valve blowout, just one of many episodes in these pages.  "Jewel of the Pacific Northwest" indeed!

(And by the way, to all right thinking people, this is the Pacific Southwest!)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetI'm curious. Who was the photographer of Dodie's print?
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Jacquie, we can make out the first three letters clearly: Tes, and then guessing the rest a bit we get "Teskey" so it says "Teskey 25/50". I tried hard with internet searching, but did not come up with any other information.

The photo, by the way, is 40 inches wide and I came nowhere near representing it accurately in the blog!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago