September 8, 2019: Home to Prague, Czech Republic via Toronto - Praha to Wien Greenway Tour (Tour 19) - 2019 🇨🇿 🇦🇹 - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2019 to September 9, 2019

September 8, 2019: Home to Prague, Czech Republic via Toronto

Hotel AC

YTS to YYZ to PRG via Air Canada Express Jazz Q400 AC8284 and Air Canada Rouge 767-300ER AC1922

AS always, wide awake around 4 am and just tossed and turned until 5:30 when MA's alarm went off. I jumped up, and gathered up the last few things for the trip, and packed the Lee Child Book, Persuader, and poked my head into Alexio's room. This will be the last morning that I see him for a few weeks. After having the recent realization that he will be done high school in five short years, I am reticent to leave anywhere without him.

Mom and Dad came over with the truck into which I had placed the bike boxes yesterday. With a quick stop at Timmies, we were on the road and away to the Timmins airport once again. Mom, Dad, Alex, MA and I. With the fears also upon me, if I had to stay home, I would have done so without a problem.

Part of my fears are my physical ailments lately. If it hasn't been one thing then it's been another. Lately my knees have been bothering me, and I have been having wicked cramps in my left calf, and stiffness in the right one. I don't know if the right-calf pains are related to the pull from last year, but when it comes, it is debilitating. That scares me, for if it happens along the cycling portion of the trip, I will be halted on the spot, unable to bike or even walk. I'm not really fond of this.

There was a new girl at the Air Canada counter in Timmins, and she did not even bother with the military ID or directive for luggage. She just checked in the bikes, gave us our boarding passes, and we were done. Similarly, the security screening was pleasant and quick and in no time, we were just waiting for the plane for Toronto - the first leg of the flights. The plane arrived a bit late, we left a few minutes late, then arrived to YYZ a few minutes late which did not really matter since we had hours until our next flight.

Pearson arrival was a breeze. No more do you have to re-enter security. You just walk along toward the E (for international flights) gates. We went straight to the Priority Pass Lounge, and it was a good idea. Shortly afterwards, the place was full and there was a waiting line to get in. We had lunch, snacks then eventually some wine to toast the trip. At 4 pm we went over to gate E69 to catch our Air Canada Rouge 767-300 to Prague. We had the two seats 13 H and K but the next rows's centre three seats were empty so I jumped into them and stretched out for the entire flight. I watched Designated Survivor. I finished my book. I slept. It was great and prevented my bad legs from cramping since I was not squashed into a seated position. Glorious!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0