Cheep thrills - North to the Balkans - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2018

Cheep thrills

Two weeks from departure.   The last few days will go very quickly I’m sure, and there’s still a lot to do before then: final packing and storage unit activities, visit friends and family, stay on top of the condo sale project.

And ride.  Rachael is doing much better at this than I am, and has probably packed twice as many miles into the past few weeks as I have.  It isn’t because I’m lazier, believe me; it’s the gift I give to Rachael each spring: I let her get ahead of me in her conditioning because she’s happier that way.  She likes feeling stronger during the month or so it will take me to catch up with her.  What a nice guy!

Today is typical.  Rain is due to arrive about 11, so she’s off at sunrise on a forty miler somewhere.  I was up late last night planning out our winter tour of Taiwan, so I sleep in a bit longer and then head off on a shorter, less ambitious ride: a lazy loop around the river to get some coffee and see what’s new.  There’s always something.  Today, it’s the first goslings of the year.

A cheep thrill: the first new birds of the year
Heart 3 Comment 0
I like the Ross Island tugs - they look spiffy with their bright yellow paint jobs
Heart 2 Comment 0

After a few miles, I come to as good a spot to stop as any - Water Avenue Coffee, one of my favorite early morning watering holes.  It’s an interesting spot to hang out today, because the street is torn up in a repaving project.  I enjoy sitting at the window, staring at the heavy equipment moving back and forth across the stage in front of me.

I’ve got a ringside seat for the big show!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

So that’s exciting, of course.  It looks like these guys will be at it all day though, and the rain front is creeping over the west hills so I take my leave at a scene break and continue on.  I ride north along the river a bit further, cross to the west bank over the Steel Bridge, cross back again over Tilikum Crossing, and head back to Amy’s place.  As I cross Tilikum Crossing the first of the rains begin so I pick up the pace and get home reasonably dry.

Here’s the thing about Portland for me: I really love this town, but I think the key to it is this loop around the river.  I never tire of it and always find something to catch my interest and inspire me, no matter what the season.  It’s what I’ll miss the most when we’re away, I think.

The blossoms are gone now from the cherry grove, but it’s still beautiful with its yellowish spring green.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The blossoms have dropped, so the crowds have moved on.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Capturing that Portland spirit
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’ve never known what this guy is, until now (thanks, Andrea!): ceanothus (California lilac).
Heart 1 Comment 2
Andrea BrownSome kind of ceanothus (California lilac)?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonHey, a younger brain! Thanks! Hearing that, I’m pretty sure I’ve never known what this was.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Rachael and I have been looking at the south waterfront with a new interest, because it will be our home for a spell - we’ve rented a waterfront condo for the two months we’ll be back in town this winter.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another new high rise on the south waterfront nears completion. It has been amazing watching this town explode over the last fifteen years.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was glad to get this shot, just before the clouds dropped and the rains began. It didn’t seem right to have a post without a volcano in it.
Heart 2 Comment 0

As a coda here are a few shots from two nights back, on the day of the previous post.  Rachael and I walked over to the Muddy Rudder Public House for dinner and music.  I’ve been after Rachael to come here for an evening out for a few years now, tempting her with stromboli and the blues.  Now, with it only a mile and a half away, it’s an easy walk.  

The evening was a big hit.  She loved the stromboli, the blues act (Tim Rice) was great, and it’s a beautiful walk along the bluff and past Sellwood Park.  On the way back, in the dark, we enjoyed seeing a different aspect of the city.  We even heard an owl, something I can’t recall hearing in Portland before now.

At the Muddy Rudder Public House
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love this - it feels like we could be in a small town anywhere, not in the heart of the city
Heart 3 Comment 0
The shadow patterns remind me of the ones we saw during the solar eclipse last summer.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking across Oaks Bottom
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0