Sentimental crossing paths - Reacquainting on the Continental Divide 2021 - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2021

Sentimental crossing paths

Yin/Yang decision, wrong or right.

The loose plan on Wednesday evening was to camp at Colorado National Monument and then wake up early on Thursday to ride the Kokopelli mountain bike trail into Utah, out and back.  But the subtle messages from home turned my inner guilt into high gear and I decided upon a route back towards Michigan.  My restless Wednesday overnight landed in Parachute, CO.  Made Thursday plans to overnight with cousin-in-laws in Edwards, CO, and then ride on Friday in Vail, CO.  And then more inner guilt kicked into overdrive as not so nice name calling emanated from home, and Thursday became the last day.

Drove down I-70 into Glenwood Springs for a quick walk through the tourist crowds in the old business district.  Could not get into the crowded streets and shops, so drove down I-70 to the little town of Eagle.  My distant cousin, Zak, nicest guy and super knowledgeable about local riding, shared ideas for single track rides.  I started with good intentions to ride, unloaded and set up the bike to go, then found a shady grass spot by the parked car and took an afternoon nap.  Realized at that moment that I fully transitioned from goal oriented bike packing adventure mind, back to guilt ridden task oriented suburban mental case.  Back to normal reality.

Post nap I pedaled around the beautiful little town of Eagle Creek and then drove down I-70 to Edwards, CO.  This town is a glimmering big dollar suburb to Vail, CO.  Beautiful, kind, intelligent, artistic and successful, the people and the community reminded me of everything I enjoy about Colorado.

It's late and Google maps displays 21 hours driving to reach home.  Just ahead on I-70 in Silverthorne, CO is the first place I will intersect my Great Divide Mountain Bike Route since I pedaled away from the field of cows north of Taos, NM on July 1st.  If I had been uninterrupted bicycling the GDMBR, then today I would be north of Steamboat Springs, CO.  On June 30th when I lost my one riding partner, I yielded to well-intentioned advice from friends and family for me to not continue the GDMBR solo.  Bottom line is that it was my final decision to not pursue the GDMBR solo.  I could have easily opted not to follow their advice and then today I would either be on my way into Wyoming, or regretting the decision.  In retrospect I would have enjoyed the GDMBR tour.  Two weeks post cash site, I am in the big red bus heading down I-70 for my first re-crossing of the GDMBR route.  Disappointment mixed with the excitement of an unusual adventure and knowledge that I've met characters along the journey that will keep me motivated for years.

I titled the blog "Reacquainting on the Continental Divide 2021" because I had a primary goal to find what I used to like about me.   I am disappointed about minimal distance bicycled, the places not visited and the people I had still hoped to encounter, and those shortcomings are from my hasty decision on July 1st.  Examining the adventure against the primary goal to find a piece I'd misplaced in my soul, it is with clarity that the adventure was a success.  I spent the necessary time to reinvigorate, refocus and create goals and experience mindfulness on steroids. 

Twenty one driving hours to home.  Once at home I'll pull out the tools to fix the broken swimming pool, re-shingle the roof, re-side the home, complete a couple of overdue certification exams, talk about suicide prevention (not me), figure out a career plan, elder care, and think about a new place to call home.  And maybe, just maybe, commit to an informed plan to slow race the Continental Divide in 2022. 

Good news is that I'll be home to ride Make A Wish with Team Alex.  3 days and 300 miles through Michigan to raise awareness and Wish Donations for kids with critical illness.  Would love to have you join me through a donation of any amount to https://makeawishmichigan.donordrive.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=donorDrive.participant&participantID=2006

To those that read and followed our GDMBR 2021 adventure, thank you for the company.  Be well.  Be kind.  Chat with a stranger you encounter who is out exploring by bicycle.  Get your vaccine.  Ride on.  :-)

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 675 miles (1,086 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0