114F dry heat and love affair with Red Bus - Reacquainting on the Continental Divide 2021 - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2021

114F dry heat and love affair with Red Bus

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's bike ride was loosely based on a route I spotted from someone on Ride With GPS.  The ride turned into a gravel hike up a 20% + grade.  No effing way was this my plan.  Follow GAIA GPS to the boring road and went back into Durango.  Radiant temps from the asphalt registered 113F and the ambient air was only 99F.  But it was dry.  Right.

Followed a beautiful path along the Animas River and eventually doubled back to camp.  Pretty sure I've completely bonded with my old red bus because as soon as I reached camp and had another bottle of 99F water, I took a nap in the open bed of the Yukon.

It's now 10pm Mountain Time.  Stars are out.  Breezes strong at 80F, dry and clean.  This is why I'm lingering a little longer out West.

Neighboring campers are friendly, generally  young, high or stoned on whatever, or come with LOTS of kids and babies that cry.  It's organized camping at it's finest.  The last guy I met at the water spigot before dusk was a middle aged stoned land investor who had stories to burn.  He blabbered a long time, bumped knuckles five times and each time told me his name was Bob.  I assume he stumbled back to his nylon cave and dropped.

Sleep well.  :-)

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMale western fence lizard

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Western_fence_lizard
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 608 miles (978 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0