Old Station, CA: Rest day. - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2015

Old Station, CA: Rest day.

I woke up at 5:30 this morning and thought to myself, "This time tomorrow I will be riding.". Then I rolled over and went back to sleep until Jacinto shook my arm violently and asked, "What time is it?". How do I know? I'm sleeping . . . . he actually got up first. I was surprised. Jacinto did have the good point that if we didn't get up early (7 AM) then we wouldn't go to sleep tonight and be ready for the morning. Darn. OK. Time to get up.

Jacinto and Oren went to JJ's for coffee and breakfast. I had milk with a peanut butter banana.

Wifi only at the store - so we were parked outside all morning. I heard from Timothy Sowles, a bicycling friend from Redding. He would drive over and have lunch with us. Yay! Entertainment! Tim asked if I wanted anything from town. I requested screen cleaner for my computer and some Saran wrap to wrap my electronics. We have a forecast of rain the next few days. We might get lucky, might not.

Tim arrived right at lunch time. We chatted for awhile and then continued on over to JJ's for lunch. After lunch Tim drove us over to see the big lava tube. Tim and Jacinto had flip flops on. We didn't have a flashlight at all, but used cell phones. It was nice and cool inside. We took one wrong turn on a dead end, but found our way out just fine. It was a nice afternoon diversion after lunch.

JJ's is closed this evening. We are having a convenience store dinner (why didn't I ask Tim for dinner food?). Tim took us to the gas station and delivered us back to our lodging. It was very nice to see him, but time to start thinking about the big day tomorrow. It's our last huge climbing day, around Mt. Lassen. 5,700 feet of climbing. We should have a good go of it since we had an easy ride yesterday and a rest day today. Hopefully traffic is kind also. We are on the piece of Highway 89 that has been frequently discussed in a negative manner.

These locals were so proud of their catch, even I had to take a photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We spent our morning at the store, where the wifi works. Jacinto and I were looking at flights to Houston to visit his sister and Mexico to visit his brother. A multi-city ticket had crazy layovers and was expensive. We ended up going with three one way tickets. It was cheaper and more direct.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not that you can see the cave behind us, but it's there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tim and me after our hike. Tim and Jacinto agreed the flip flops weren't too comfy walking across the lava.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0