Naches-Packwood, WA: Best offer I've had in a long time! - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2015

Naches-Packwood, WA: Best offer I've had in a long time!

Packwood Inn 13032 US 12 360-494-5500 $69.16 one bed, includes tax. Poor wifi. Old TV. Good enough room for the price. Nice lady at the front desk. Centrally located next to store and restaurant.

If you decide to stay here, be sure to check out in the morning and save your receipt. As I was going over my credit card statement, I found that they billed me $76.78. I am still trying to resolve this. Kimberly is the manager and is not returning my call.

A Fleetwood Cadillac parked at the Naches Hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Detail of the airbrush painting on the car.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was planning to meet Oren at the Circle K where he was having breakfast. I ran 10 minutes late and he was long gone. I didn't see him all day.

It was a headwind from the get go. I gave a huge mental sigh and planned on a character building day. Luckily when the road curved in four miles, it took the worst of the headwind away. Scenery was top notch. I decided to try and ignore the dismal numbers on my computer and enjoy the scenery. There was scenery abound. Every day is prettier than the last. This is a fantastic route!

What a way to start the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

What is summer in the mountains without road construction? I saw the sign and hoped the gravel wasn't too fresh. At the worst I would get a free ride in the pilot truck. I kept riding and riding, but didn't see any construction. Maybe they forgot to take the signs down? right.

Soon I came upon the construction zone. I stopped and asked the flagger what was ahead. He said they were redoing some chip seal that wasn't done correctly. They were working on the other side of the road, this side was already done so I was good. We chit chatted a little and I shared some cherries with him. I think the poor flaggers get the brunt of people's anger at being stopped. He was a nice guy. The pilot car came around every 13 minutes. He told me to wait until she started this group back, then go ahead and ride, just get off the road when I saw the next group coming back. I had to get off the road one time. While i was stopped a construction guy in a truck asked if I wanted a ride through, but I told him I thought I was doing fine if he thought I was doing fine. It actually made for pretty nice riding because there would be a bunch of cars all together and then nothing for 13 minutes.

As a side note - Oren said they made him ride through in the pilot truck, but it was a tedious process as he took his bags off, etc. Maybe by the time I got there they decided that was too much trouble? When Jacinto went through, they just told him to go, didn't tell him to pull over when traffic was in his lane. He said a couple of the semi trucks came a bit too close.

I had asked the flagger if he had seen any other bicycle tourists while they were doing construction, since this was a mapped ACA route. He had to think and then said there had been one local guy with no bags that went up and down. Then he thought some more and decided there had been one other bicycle going the opposite direction. Obviously not a popular route yet, but it's not because of lack of scenery.

Jacinto caught me eight miles from the top. I told him to go ahead and not to wait, I'd take too long to get there. We did chat for a bit and eat some of that five pounds of cherries.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Jacinto had said last night he thought the wind would ease up as we got into the mountains. That proved to be true. Thank goodness. Every once and a while I'd go around the corner and I'd be stopped almost dead in my tracks, but mostly once the climbing started, the wind was manageable. Climbing was very, very gradual. Even I was in my middle chain ring the entire way. That is saying something.

I had the funniest experience. I was stopped at the 'no stopping for two miles' sign. Just as I was ready to pull off, a black car stops in front of me and a guy comes running back. I heaved a mental sigh and presumed it was someone either asking about my funny bike or my really good tail light (Dinotte 400R). Nope - this was a brand new one. A young, cute guy said they were playing truth or dare and his dare was to ask for my phone number. I asked him what happened if I didn't give it to him. He said he had to ride the rest of the trip with no pants on. But I told him, you have pants now. He asked if I wanted him to take his pants off. Sure, I said. So, guess what he did???? I'm still smiling just thinking of this. It was good for a grin all the way to the top, on into town, and even right now.

Of course I always think of things too late - but I after he offered to take his pants off, I should have offered him a cherry. From my bag of cherries, you naughty minds you . . . . .

Looking back down the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
If the gradient stays the same, I can make two miles without stopping. Otherwise . . ..
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today's pass was fueled by local cherries.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't linger at the top - it was windy. I did see there were two loaded bikes at the top. Look there are other bikes on this route! But I had a mission and it was to get out of the wind/cold and to town.I took a photo, crammed some food in my mouth and crossed my fingers that the 21 mile downhill would be steep enough to combat the wind. I put on my wind vest and ear covers. Off I went.

One advantage to the wind is that I didn't have to use my brakes. The pass was much steeper on this side. Thank you, thank you. Even with the headwind, I made it clear to town without undue duress. Not like last year crawling into Alamosa against the wind. Or the year before creeping into Gunnison. I did stop at about 1,500 feet elevation and took off the vest and the ear covers - it was warm again.

Oren came out of his room as I wheeled up. He said that was the best day of the whole trip so far and he had just gotten in he had stopped so many times for photos. Unfortunately, all of his photos are on the camera, so I can't share until later. Jacinto caught up with up just outside of town and the rode in together. They (and I) had some slight confusion when we saw Packwood Lodge four miles before town. Nope, Packwood Inn.

We all got showered and went next door to Cruiser's for an early dinner. I had chicken fried steak, which I haven't had in forever. I have half to take with me tomorrow.

Alison is very nice to take care of us - she just sent an email reminding that the next two days are very remote and the cabins do have a 'store' but there isn't much there, take food now for two days. That means the 46 oz. V-8 I bought won't seem like such a bad idea? Tomorrow is 4,900 feet of climbing - it might seem like a bad idea to start. But I originally had a 32 oz Gatorade and a 12 oz. V-8 - so really it's the same thing. Or so I am telling myself.

I bought salami and cheese (Ken Paulsen's favorite) and a couple of bars. I still have a baggie of Spiz. Plus all of that chicken fried steak. I guess we might be having Cheese Whiz and crackers from the store. We'll just have to see. Jacinto is planning to stop at the gas station for one of those giant, giant burritos that we had with Wayne Este's several years ago. The kind that may or may not be made of real food items.

Can I say one more time this has been a wonderful trip? Best tour ever. We will spend almost two weeks in Washington. Have we seen all of the good parts? It sure is purdy.

OK - we are planning to ride together tomorrow at least until the intersection of FR 25 and FR 26, just in case. Even Jacinto is supposed to get on the road with us. The first section to Randle is slightly down hill, hopefully I won't slow them down much. Then we have a giant honking hill. The intersection in question is at mile 25 (coincidence) - after that I don't think there should be much confusion. It's a long day tomorrow in miles and climbing, but should be one of the best of the trip. Very remote.

Our cabin has a kerosene lantern. Bath houses. No electricity. Definitely no wi-fi until Hood River two days away.

Adventure awaits!

The guys are fed and happy. Now off to the grocery to see what there is to fuel our remote ride tomorrow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are on map two now!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 468 miles (753 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0