Hood River - Government Camp, OR: 5,700 feet of climbing is an ordinary day. Yawn! - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2015

Hood River - Government Camp, OR: 5,700 feet of climbing is an ordinary day. Yawn!

Best Western Mt Hood Inn 87450 E Government Camp Loop 503-272-3205 $106.99 prepaid, no refund. Oren paid $124. and got a nicer room on a lower floor. He also didn't have to fight about the bill. Waiting to see how that turns out in the morning.

Oren and I were up and out the door at 7 AM, as usual. We had a couple of miles to go into town, and then up a big honkin' hill, 13th St., into town. That will wake your legs up! The terrain of the day was up and more up. Oren waited for me a few times, then I told him to go ahead and just wait at the turn off of 281 onto Woodworth Road into Parkdale.

I was trying to ride reasonably fast without burning out, but I took too long. Woodworth Road was easy to see, plus Oren had left me chalk arrow markings. Woodworth came in on the dreaded Highway 35 that Dan had warned us about. I didn't go far at all before I saw a little bakery/cafe. I went in looking for a drink with calories. Now that I am out of Spiz and the USPS had lost my replacement shipment (didn't tell you that story, did I?), I have to hunt out calories. Liquid calories because they are easier to digest while riding and to dispose while on the road. Did I say that politely?

Today was an easy routing day, now I was on 35. Just take 35 to 26 and call it good. There was just the pesky fact of 5,700 feet of climbing. That's comparable to my biggest training ride of Grand Mesa. Somewhat comparable to Rainy/Washington Pass day in that it was far shorter miles with big elevation gains. Good thing we had fresh legs and a long gentle grade. It was a 'keep turning the pedals' kind of day. It was never too hard, just lots and lots of it. Plenty of view points.

I was pleasantly surprised at the traffic. We had several people say how terrible the traffic was on 35. But I found traffic to be sparse even. There was one construction zone of fresh new pavement where I had to wait my turn to go through.

Jacinto caught up with me, had a few words and a kiss and was off. Pedal, pedal. That was pretty much the order of the day. I had a nice tailwind most of the day. Blue skies, not too hot. Basically, a good but long day on the bike. It is very annoying to me how slow I am. I am ALL slow twitch. Spoon says I need to do more intervals - but I don't think this is the time and place to start.

Oren called to give me directions to the motel while I was at the top of the first pass. Jacinto called when I was just a couple miles out of town. Isn't it nice they are taking care of me? Isn't it too bad I can't keep up with them? Damn.

I was counting the miles down, ready for the turn onto 26. I had already figured out we were going to do an extra 4 miles to get to town. I did not figure in the big uphill. Worse, those 4 miles have to be retraced tomorrow to get back on route.

I stopped at the Chevron for a snack. That's where I met James. We chatted about our trips. It was a nice break. I've seen very few loaded cyclists this trip.

We were at the Best Western on the far, far side of town. Of course. Our room was prepaid, no refund, for a lower price. $106.99. But when Jacinto got in they told him it wasn't prepaid. I had prepaid a few of the rooms and had brought the appropriate credit card statements with me. I showed the manager my statement. Hmm, some looking on the computer and he agreed I had paid. But he couldn't credit one payment back, the assistant manager in the morning has to do it. Sigh.The manager can't and the assistant can? One thing to take care of when I'm trying to get on the road for a 68 mile day tomorrow.

We ate next door at the brewery - really the only choice unless we wanted to go back into town proper. It was good. We were hungry.

Now it's time for bed, another big day tomorrow. It is a very, very remote road. We are hoping not to get lost. The plan is to stay together until Road 46. The first section seems more questionable. Jacinto is just going follow chalk markings, he's not going early and being cold. Hopefully we are just being cautious. ACA doesn't make any special comments on their map about routing being tricky.

My first stop in the hamlet of Mt. Hood. I drank this on the spot. Glass bottle, too heavy to carry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here's your old barn photo for the day. Mt Hood in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mt Hood from the town of Mt Hood.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I must be getting to the serious climbing now. Interesting that Oregon has a snow traction law. Colorado is trying to pass one, but the voices saying it would be too expensive for people are very loud.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I left three hours before Jacinto and here he is. It's the story of my life. The tortoise and the hare, except this tortoise never gets there first.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One out of two passes had a sign. I think all passes should have a sign. Bicyclist deserve it!
Heart 0 Comment 0
James Barlow is from SLC and is on a grand tour until August 1st, when he has to start a new job.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 643 miles (1,035 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0