Ft. Klamath, OR: Rest day. - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2015

Ft. Klamath, OR: Rest day.

It felt so nice to wake up at 4 AM, eyeball the clock, and roll right back over. It was a shame to be awake for good before 7 AM, but I was.

Why is it that a day off goes way too fast? I still haven't had a shower and it's 3 PM!

Jim and Genny got in on the Amtrak at Klamath Falls and were rolling down the road at 9 AM. They arrived by 1 PM. We still haven't really talked, they registered, had lunch, and are getting organized.

Oren spent the afternoon clarifying the route for the next couple of days. Tomorrow we spend ~30 miles on Dead Indian Memorial Highway, a name that tickles all of us. I've been told the screaming downhill into Ashland will bring us into town smiling widely with bugs in our teeth.

We spent the afternoon catching up with Jim and Genny. We talked about everything and anything. It's been two years since we've seen them -too long.

Everyone but Jacinto (the lizard) is planning to get out at 6 AM to beat the worst of the heat. Tomorrow's ride into Ashland is 68 miles with 4,000 feet of climbing. That is a number that previously would have stricken terror in my heart, but now sounds like an ordinary riding day. Listen to me brag! My anxiety issues seem to be calming down. I'm definitely confident of what my body can do. Oren has been very solicitous babysitting me through my routing issues. Tomorrow is an easy routing day, I shouldn't have any problems.

BTW, my bike is clean - I still haven't had that shower. I do believe I'll take one now.

Housework is easy when you have three bags on two wheels. My house cleaning is all done for the week. Not only did I clean the chain, I emptied the panniers completely out to see what was living at the bottoms. Luckily, nothing exciting was growing. Got to love the Baggie system of packing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is one for the record books - Oren likes the ACA route better than ridewithgps.
Heart 0 Comment 0
After chasing me for two weeks, my replacement Spiz has arrived. Yay! There are few times in my life that I want lots of calories in a small package, but touring is one. Spiz has 125 calories a scoop. Plus, I feel like I recover better with Spiz. I've added three pounds to my bike weight, but now I can quit whining about having to eat bars all day. No, I am not a paid spokesperson. Just a big fan.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jim and Genny Fitch have joined us! They brought more chalk to mark the route and dried cherries to go in my morning oatmeal. Thank you!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jim had to bring this label from his new tires. Slumgullion Pass in Colorado is on one of our favorite tours. It's a real Grandpa of a pass. Genny has been using these tires for several years and says they are very comfortable, supple tires.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0