Ft. Klamath - Ashland, OR: Great routing, Alison! - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2015

Ft. Klamath - Ashland, OR: Great routing, Alison!

Timbers Motel, 1450 Ashland, 541-482-4242 $92.40 includes tax. Very roomy. Clean. fridge/microwave. flat screen. slow wi-fi.

I was the one tossing and turning all night last night. I'm sure Jacinto was happy when I got up and left so he could get some sleep. I finally gave up and got up at 4:30, on the road at 5:30 AM. Oren was almost ready to leave as I passed. It was a little chilly - but I knew that wouldn't last, so it was a welcome cool.

I had the road to myself for miles and miles. Soon Oren caught me. We rode together along Westside Road to the intersection of Highway 140. That's where the two mile, 800 foot climb started. That was the last I saw of Oren. Westside Road was pleasantly shaded with large pine trees on both sides. Oren and I commented on how nice the morning was, it wasn't heating up at all. That opinion changed at 140 - it was full sunshine and full effort while making the slow climb.

As soon as I turned onto Dead Indian Memorial Highway, the trees were back. Thank you, thank you. I hadn't gone any distance at all when Jim and Genny caught up. We had some shorter climbs, but the road was mostly flat. This is Alison's route, ACA goes through Prospect. Alison said her version stays in the trees more, while ACA's route goes by the lava tubes.

I don't think any of us did much photo taking. We were all set on getting to town before the heat set in. Except Jacinto. I tried to call him several times. No answer. He was probably still back at the motel.

I rode semi close to Jim and Genny most of the Dead Indian Highway. We were on our last little uphill (thank you for the detailed elevation profiles, Jim!) when we ran into a couple cycling the opposite direction. She didn't have panniers, he had a small rear set. She asked for water, he said,"What a great ride." After we hit our downhill (their uphill), I felt very, very sorry for them and could see how they would be running out of water. We had about a 15 mile screaming downhill. Why is it whatever road I am on, I'm always happy I'm not going the other direction because it seems more difficult than the side I did?

As we descended lower and lower, I could feel the temperature increasing. Blech. Luckily we had just a few miles to town. Jim and Genny got ahead of me. I saw a sign for Subway. Yep, that's me. I turned in and bought a double chicken chopped salad. Oren called when I sat down to eat. It was too early to check in and the three of them were going to the Mexican food next door. I told him I wouldn't hurry with my food.

I tried to call Jacinto. Still nothing. I checked my email and wasted time on the phone. Finally it was 1 PM, I decided to see if I could check in. It was 1.4 miles to the motel. When I got there the man said I was on the second floor and the downstairs rooms were assigned first come first serve. I told him I was sure I was first because I had made my reservation last year. I was nice about it and he did give me a downstairs room.

I was ready for a shower. A shower and ice water. That's what it takes to make me happy on a touring day. Life sure is simple.

The early cyclist beats the heat. I was on the road at 5:30 AM.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty roadside flowers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I"m going to have to google this highway. Surely they could have said "Joe Many Squaws Memorial Highway" or whatever his real name was. But it does make for a memorable road name.
Heart 0 Comment 0
What mount would this been? As seen from Dead Indian Highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jim and Genny caught up to me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Genny and I stopped to take a photo of this striking lavender lined driveway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are on the dry side of the state now. Dry and hot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 1,009 miles (1,624 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0