Eagle Cliff Campground - Hood River, OR: I was dreading this day? - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2015

Eagle Cliff Campground - Hood River, OR: I was dreading this day?

Vagabond Lodge 4070 Westcliff Dr. Hood River 877-386-2992 $174.40 includes tax for two nights. We had a parking lot view. For $15. more there's a very nice river view room. TV is old, wifi is slow. Shower is great. Oren has a river room and a nice TV.

I'm ready to depart. Time for another honkin' climb!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had more possible route confusion today. Oren agreed to stay with me for the worst of it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Oren and I started out on FS 90, we were very happy we were continuing on and didn't have to go back up yesterday's nice downhill. We continued on a downhill slope and I almost kept up. Our next road was Curly Creek. You can just imagine, it climbs . . . .but it sure is pretty. I stopped in no time at all to take off a layer of clothes. I was not only warmed up, I was sweating. I asked Oren if he thought it was humid, but he's used to humidity, being from Arkansas. The clouds were a little worrying, but it was supposed to be zero percent chance of rain, the last we had heard.

This was an even better road today. I thought there might be Sunday traffic of people going back home after the weekend. There was hardly any traffic at all. No speeding motorcycles!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once we got on Curly Creek and it started climbing I told Oren to go on ahead, I am a REALLY slow climber. The top today was at mile 10. That's user friendly. I like to do the climb on fresh legs earlier in the morning when it's cool. But darn, this climb also has some stiff gradients in it. Luckily Oldman is 1,000 feet lower than yesterday's climb and it went pretty good. I did not eat cheese, salami, or V-8 at any point today. I was still carrying all three!

Mt. St Helens. It was the right side that exploded.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm still smiling here. We have Oldman Pass to climb today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It matters only to me, but here is the last of my Spiz (meal replacement drink). I had more sent to the lodge in Hood River. Hopefully it arrives.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here's the old man at Oldman Pass. This is the best we could do for a sign.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was hoping against hope that our next road, Wind River Road, would have the wind going our way. If that was correct, it would be a pretty nice day. One big climb, early, then downhill all the way. That is exactly what happened! Oren kept waiting for me at various points so we actually mostly together all day.

When we got to Carson, at the Columbia River, I wanted a snack of some sort. Was there a convenience store? No. I thought I could make it. I had a bite of bar and we made the turn west toward the Bridge of the Gods. That's where bicycles have to cross, they can't use the bridge at Hood River. The road was very narrow with lots of weekend traffic. Everyone was polite and we covered the 5 miles at a good pace.

We stopped for the photo opportunity and tried to let traffic past us. Once we were committed to the bridge, we had to take the lane. I found the metal grate a bit disconcerting. I was happy we weren't riding it in the rain. Cars were polite, it all went okay. We pulled to the side and let the cars by and regrouped. I told Oren if I could stick with him to the interstate, then I thought I could find my way after that. In the end, it was all pretty logical looking at it. I just get all wound up about getting lost. I sure wish I had a mellow personality. I always find something to worry about. It's quite annoying.

We got to the ACA side route, a honking climb up Herman's Gulch. Oren asked did I really want to do it,or should we just get on the interstate and get to town. We had 17 miles to go. It ended up being a great day, I had dreaded it, but the long downhill was wonderful and the uphill wasn't as bad as I thought. I still voted for fast and easy. We certainly had a good tailwind.

Off we went. The shoulder was wide, the traffic was fast and heavy. There was ALL kinds of junk of the road. Radial tire wires all over the place. The scenery was pretty, I"m sure. I couldn't tell because I was too busy trying to avoid the tire chunks. It will be a miracle if we don't have flat tires tomorrow.

Oren stopped a couple of times for me to catch up. I had snacked away all of the bars in my bag, all that was left was the cheese and salami. I was running on fumes. Good thing we were going so fast. As soon as we got to our exit, I noted that the motel was on the left, but a Taco Bell sign was on the right. 1/2 mile. I don't think Oren was too interested, but he went with me.

I tried to call Jacinto, he didn't answer, I presume on the noisy interstate. I called again and he did answer, he was at the motel. Oren and I bemoaned having to go uphill into a headwind to get to the motel, but it didn't last long. Oren checked into his very nice river view room. We had the $15. cheaper parking lot/interstate view.

Dinner was next door. Jacinto found a hair in his sandwich. The woman apologized and gave his money back right there. No offer of a new plate of food or anything. It was rather strange. I had salmon and Oren had prime rib. Jacinto grazed the remains of our dinners.

We went to look at the gardens out back, this lodge has been owned by the same family for three generations. The love shows.

Now it's bedtime. I am not setting my alarm tomorrow!

Bridge of the Gods is more important if you are a hiker than a biker. It cost us 50 cents each to cross.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One last fortifying snack before getting on the interstate. A prepackaged sandwich that was a couple of days old. Oren, Jacinto is rubbing off on you!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 594 miles (956 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0