Cashmere, WA: rest day! - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2015

Cashmere, WA: rest day!

Jacinto swore he would sleep in until 7 AM. I asked why that was special, he sleeps in until later than that on a normal day, by several hours!

We wandered over to the little smoothie/sandwich place next door and had breakfast. I had a meatloaf sandwich without the bread and with two fried eggs. She looked at me a little funny, but it tasted excellent.

We had been bemoaning that the grocery store was back by the highway. We did find a Quick Mart around the corner that was very well stocked. Jacinto and I spent $46. on food for tomorrow. I do believe the grocery would be cheaper. The restaurants here are certainly cheaper.

Oren has a mocha coffee, parfait, and a breakfast sandwich. Did he forget we aren't riding today?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oren is trying to decide for whom this would be the most appropriate gift.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've seen several of these little gnome doors downtown. They are whimsical.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I love a whole bunch of nothing rest days. This is a cute little town with a distillery and a candy factory to tour. Did we do those things? Nope. Could we be stirred to walk or ride back to the highway to buy fresh cherries? Nope. I took a nap, Jacinto watched TV, that so difficult we had to go eat dinner. Mexican this time.

Now we are back in the room and discussing routing for the morning. I don't mind climbing, but I don't want to get lost. However, I would like a photo of Deadmans Hill. I think we've all agreed we are going to give Old Blewett Hill a try, Wayne Este's gives it two thumbs up and says the downhill pavement is in pretty good shape. Oren found a Youtube video of someone descending by bicycle. They appear to be going a pretty good clip, so it must be in good shape?

Notice Oren is willing to top off my tires, while Jacinto says I should be self sufficient and do it myself. Heck.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0